Tag: Cars

Monday 12/7/2020 1pm ET: Across The Tracks with Ron Kovacs

This edition of  Across The Tracks feature tune about Cars!  

Monday 8/3/2020 12am ET: Feature LP: Cars – Candy-O (1979)

Candy-O is the second studio album by the American rock band the Cars. It was released in 1979 on Elektra Records. Featuring the Top 20 hit “Let’s Go” and the minor hit “It’s All I Can Do”, the album charted 15 places higher than its predecessor on the US Billboard 200 at number three as their debut peaked at number eighteen. The album features cover art by pin-up artist Alberto Vargas.

1. “Let’s Go”  3:33
2. “Since I Held You” 3:16
3. “It’s All I Can Do” 3:44
4. “Double Life” 4:14
5. “Shoo Be Doo” 1:36
6. “Candy-O” 2:36
7. “Night Spots” 3:15
8. “You Can’t Hold on Too Long” 2:46
9. “Lust for Kicks” 3:52
10. “Got a Lot on My Head” 2:59
11. “Dangerous Type” 4:28
12. “Let’s Go” (monitor mix) 3:33
13. “Candy-O” (Northern Studios version) 2:35
14. “Night Spots” (Northern Studios version) 3:43
15. “Lust for Kicks” (monitor mix) 4:25
16. “Dangerous Type” (Northern Studios version) 3:26
17. “They Won’t See You” (Northern Studios version) 3:49
18. “That’s It” (B-side of “Let’s Go”) 3:23

Tuesday 12am ET: Feature LP: Cars – Complete Greatest Hits (2002)

Complete Greatest Hits is a compilation album by the new wave band The Cars, released in 2002 by Elektra Records and Rhino Records, and contains 20 singles in chronological order of their original release.

1. “Just What I Needed” 3:43
2. “My Best Friend’s Girl” 3:44
3. “Good Times Roll” 3:44
4. “You’re All I’ve Got Tonight” 4:13
5. “Bye Bye Love” 4:14
6. “Moving in Stereo” 3:54
7. “Let’s Go” , 3:33
8. “It’s All I Can Do” 3:44
9. “Dangerous Type” 4:28
10. “Touch and Go” 4:55
11. “Shake It Up” 3:32
12. “Since You’re Gone” 3:30
13. “I’m Not the One” 4:12
14. “You Might Think” 3:04
15. “Drive” 3:55
16. “Magic” 3:57
17. “Hello Again” 3:47
18. “Why Can’t I Have You” 4:04
19. “Tonight She Comes” 3:52
20. “You Are the Girl” 3:52

In Memoriam: Ric Ocasek (1944 – 2019)

Richard Theodore Otcasek (March 23, 1944 – September 15, 2019), known as Ric Ocasek, was an American singer, songwriter, musician and record producer. He was best known as the lead vocalist, rhythm guitarist and songwriter for the rock band the Cars. In 2018, Ocasek was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame as a member of the Cars. Ocasek died Sunday in New York at age 75.

Police said they received a call around 4 p.m. for an unconscious male at a townhouse on East 19th Street. He was pronounced dead at the scene. Law enforcement sources confirmed the deceased was Ocasek.

Ocasek and his band were inducted into the Rock Hall in 2018. The institution described the band as “hook-savvy with the perfect combo of new wave and classic rock.”

The band had 13 top-40 singles, including radio staples like “Good Times Roll” and “Just What I Needed,” and Ocasek went on to a successful producing career after The Cars broke up in the late 1980s.

He was also known for his long-running marriage to the Czech supermodel Paulina Porizkova. She announced their separation in 2018 after 28 years of marriage.

They listed the 19th Street residence for sale earlier this year for more than $15 million.

Ocasek was married three times. He married early in life, but divorced and was married to his second wife, Suzanne Ocasek, in 1971. Ocasek was still married to Suzanne when he met 18-year-old model Paulina Porizkova during filming of the music video for the Cars’ song “Drive” in 1984. Ocasek and Porizkova were married on August 23, 1989. The couple had two sons, Jonathan Raven Otcasek (b. November 4, 1993), and Oliver Otcasek (b. 1999).

Ocasek had six sons, two from each of his three marriages. His eldest son, Christopher (born 1964), was a singer who formed the rock group Glamour Camp which released one album in 1989. Adam was born in 1970. Eron was born in 1973 and Derek was born in 1981.

He and co-founder of the Cars Benjamin Orr were close friends who became estranged when the band broke up. Their friendship was commemorated in the song “Silver”, which Ocasek wrote as a dedication to Orr upon his death in 2000.

Tuesday 2pm: Sounds of The 80’s

This week on the Sounds of The 80’s, Edie Brickell, Cars, Robert Palmer, America, Julian Lennon, Dave Edmunds, Hall & Oates, Whispers, Jacksons, AC/DC and more. . . 

Tuesday 2pm: Sounds of The 80’s

This week – music from, Men At Work, Duran Duran, Queen, Bette Midler, Cars, Tina Turner, Garth Brooks, Judds, Def Leppard and many many more . . . 

Sunday 12am: The Rock Show

This week on the Rock Show – Ratt, Bachman Turner Overdrive, Electric Light Orchestra, Journey, Deep Purple, Pink Floyd, Cars, Pearl Jam, Judas Priest, Vixen, Doobie Brothers, Marshall Tucker Band and more . . .

Sunday 12pm: Vinyl Resting Place with Willie B

VRP1982Today on a new installment of the Vinyl Resting Place –  the first full year of MTV and the last year for rock and roll.  We count down the top 45 (well – almost) 45’s of 1982.  Today’s twist – we count up – from #1 to – well – as close as we can get to 45… here’s  a sampling of what they were listening to in 1982….Joan Jett & The Blackhearts, Paul McCartney, Survivor, J. Geils Band, Daryl Hall & John Oates, Toni Basil, Journey, Rick Springfield, Laura Branigan, Quarterflash, Stevie Wonder, Cars, Neil Diamond, Air Supply and so many more . . .  Join Willie B today at 12pm and check the schedule for encore times.

Sounds of The 70s with Dan Varroney 7am ET

Music_Of_The_Year_1978This week on the Sounds of The 70s it’s “The Hits from this Week in 1978 & 1979” with Dan Varroney today at 7:00 am ET at http://www.radiomaxmusic.com. We’ll feature, Andy Gibb, A Taste of Honey, City Boy, Bob Welch, Cars, Robert Palmer Jackson Browne, Bill Labounty, Jefferson Starship, ELO, Cheap Trick, Eddie Rabbit, Heatwave, Eddie Money, John Stewart, Donna Summer, and so much more.