Tag: Dave Edmunds

Sunday 10/3/21 12am ET: Feature LP: Dave Edmunds – Rif Raf (1984)

Riff Raff is a September 1984 album by Welsh rock musician Dave Edmunds. The album was his third release for Arista Records (in the UK) and Columbia Records (in the US), following 1983’s Information.

Riff Raff continued Edmunds’ collaboration with Electric Light Orchestra frontman Jeff Lynne; Lynne produced six tracks on the albums, and wrote three of the songs. However, compared to the pair’s success with Information (which hit #51 on the Billboard 200 album chart and spawned a top-40 single in “Slipping Away”), Riff Raff was a commercial flop. The album made it to only #140. “Something About You” failed to crack the Billboard Hot 100 (although it did hit #16 on the Mainstream Rock Tracks chart).

Riff Raff was the last time Edmunds and Lynne would collaborate on record. Edmunds wouldn’t make another studio album for six years (although he would release a live album in the interim).

The majority of the tracks on Riff Raff are originals by Lynne, Edmunds, and band member John David. The most notable cover is the aforementioned “Something About You”, originally a top-20 hit for the Four Tops in 1965.

“Something About You” – 3:03
“Breaking Out” – 3:26
“Busted Loose” – 4:33
“Far Away” – 4:11
“Rules of the Game” – 4:10
“Steel Claw” – 4:18
“S.O.S.” – 3:14
“Hang On” – 3:24
“How Could I Be So Wrong” – 3:20
“Can’t Get Enough” – 3:08

Dave Edmunds – guitar, vocals
John David – bass
Paul Jones – harmonica
Richard Tandy – keyboards
Terry Williams – drums
Gered Mankowitz – photography

Thursday 1pm ET: Feature Artist – Dave Edmunds

David William “Dave” Edmunds (born April 15, 1944) is a Welsh singer/songwriter, guitarist, actor and record producer. Although he is mainly associated with pub rock and new wave, having many hits in the 1970’s and early 1980’s, his natural leaning has always been towards 1950’s style rock and roll. In July 2017, he was reported to have retired from the music business.

Wednesday 4pm ET: Sounds of The 70s

This week on the Sounds of The 70s we feature music from:  Albert Hammond, Grand Funk Railroad, Undisputed Truth, Stevie Wonder, Jacksons, Elton John, Dave Edmunds, Argent, Diana Ross, Heart, Warren Zevon and more . . .

Tuesday 2pm: Sounds of The 80’s

This week on the Sounds of The 80’s, Edie Brickell, Cars, Robert Palmer, America, Julian Lennon, Dave Edmunds, Hall & Oates, Whispers, Jacksons, AC/DC and more. . . 

Artist Countdown: Dave Edmunds Top 30 Hits 6pm ET

dedmundsEdmunds was born in Cardiff. (15 April 1944) is a Welsh singer, guitarist and record producer. As a teenager, he first played in 1954 with a band called The Edmunds Bros Duo with his older brother Geoff (born in 1940, Cardiff); this was a piano duo. Then the brothers were in The Stompers later called The Heartbeats formed in c 1957 with Geoff on rhythm guitar; Dave on lead guitar; Denny Driscoll on lead vocals; Johnny Stark on drums and Ton Edwards on bass. Then Dave and Geoff were in The 99ers along with scientist and writer Brian J. Ford. After that Dave Edmunds was in Crick Feather’s Hill-Bill’s formed in c 1960, with Feathers (Edmunds) on lead guitar; Zee Dolan on bass; Tennessee Tony on lead vocals; Tony Kees on piano and Hank Two Sticks on drums. The first group that Edmunds fronted was the Cardiff-based 1950s style rockabilly trio The Raiders formed in 1961, along with Brian ‘Rockhouse’ Davies on bass and Ken Collier on drums. Edmunds was the only constant member of the group, which later included bassist Mick Still, Bob ‘Congo’ Jones on drums and John Williams (stage name John David) on bass. The Raiders worked almost exclusively in the South Wales area.

In 1966, after a short spell in Parlophone recording band The Image (1965–1966), with local drummer Tommy Riley, Edmunds shifted to a more blues-rock sound, reuniting with Congo Jones and bassist John Williams and adding second guitarist Mickey Gee to form the short lived Human Beans, a band that played mostly in London and on the UK university circuit. In 1967, the band recorded a cover of “Morning Dew” on the Columbia label, that failed to have any chart impact. After just eighteen months, the core of ‘Human Beans’ formed a new band called Love Sculpture that again reinstated Edmunds, Jones and Williams as a trio. Love Sculpture scored a quasi-novelty Top 5 hit by reworking Khachaturian’s classical piece “Sabre Dance” as a speed-crazed rock number, inspired by Keith Emerson’s classical rearrangements. “Sabre Dance” became a hit after garnering the enthusiastic attention of British DJ John Peel. The band issued two albums.

Although he is primarily associated with pub rock and New Wave, and had numerous hits in the 1970s and early 1980s, his natural leaning has always been towards 1950s style rock and roll.

1 I Hear You Knocking
2 Girls Talk
3 Teacher Teacher (with Rockpile)
4 Baby I Love You
5 I Knew the Bride
6 Queen of Hearts
7 Singing the Blues
8 Slipping Away
9 Born to Be With You
10 I’m Comin’ Home
11 Almost Saturday Night
12 The Promised Land
13 The Race Is On (with Stray Cats)
14 Crawling from the Wreckage
15 King of Love
16 Closer to the Flame
17 High School Nights
18 Blue Monday
19 Information
20 Here Comes the Weekend
21 Where or When
22 JuJu Man
23 Deborah
24 Television
25 It Doesn’t Matter Anymore (with Suzy Bogguss)
26 Wang Dang Doodle
27 Baby Ride Easy (with Carlene Carter)
28 Thread Your Needle
29 Never Been In Love
30 Don’t You Double