Tag: Doobie Brothers

Tuesday 1/11/22 2pm ET: RadioMaxMusic Special: The Music of 1973 A to Z – Part 11

This RadioMax special features our Library of music from 1973 A2Z.

We continue with the completion of letter M and start with N and feature music from: Paul McCartney & Wings, Gladys Knight & The Pips, Aretha Franklin, John Lennon, Steeleye Span, America, Pink Floyd, Tufano & Giammarese, Queen, Michael Jackson, Sweet, Doobie Brothers and many more.

2pm to 6pm ET

Friday 1/7/22 9pm ET: Feature LP: Doobie Brothers – Takin’ It To The Streets (1976)

Takin’ It to the Streets is the sixth studio album by American rock band The Doobie Brothers. The album was released on March 19, 1976, by Warner Bros. Records. It was the first to feature Michael McDonald on lead vocals.

  1. “Wheels of Fortune” 4:54
  2. “Takin’ It to the Streets” 3:56
  3. “8th Avenue Shuffle” 4:39
  4. “Losin’ End” 3:39
  5. “Rio” 3:49
  6. “For Someone Special” 5:04
  7. “It Keeps You Runnin'” 4:20
  8. “Turn It Loose” 3:53
  9. “Carry Me Away” 4:09

Tom Johnston – electric guitar, lead and backing vocals on “Turn It Loose”; vocals on “Wheels of Fortune”
Patrick Simmons – electric guitars, lead and backing vocals
Jeff “Skunk” Baxter – electric guitars, acoustic guitar on “For Someone Special”

Michael McDonald – piano, electric piano, clavinet, synthesizers, lead and backing vocals
Tiran Porter – bass, backing vocals, lead vocal on “For Someone Special”
John Hartman – drums, percussion
Keith Knudsen – drums, percussion, backing vocals
The Memphis Horns
Wayne Jackson – trumpet
Andrew Love – tenor saxophone

James Mitchell – baritone saxophone
Lewis Collins – tenor saxophone
Jack Hale – trombone
Bobby LaKind – congas on “Takin’ It to the Streets”, “Losin’ End” and “Rio”

Richie Hayward – drums (with John Hartman) on “Wheels of Fortune”
Novi Novog – viola on “Losin’ End”
Jesse Butler – organ on “Takin’ It to the Streets”
Maria Muldaur – cameo vocal on “Rio”
Ted Templeman – additional percussion

Monday 1/3/22 2pm ET: RadioMaxMusic Special: The Music of 1973 A to Z – Part 5

This RadioMax special features our Library of music from 1973 A2Z.

We continue with land complete letter E into G and feature music from: Ohio Players, Doobie Brothers, Merle Haggard, Chicago, Freda Payne, Hues Corporation, Elvia Presley, Genesis, T.Rex, Chairmen of The Board, Lynyrd Skynyrd, Queen and many more.

2pm to 6pm ET

Friday 12/31/21 3pm ET: RadioMaxMusic Special: The Music of 1973 A to Z – Part 4

This RadioMax special features our Library of music from 1973 A2Z.

We continue with land complete letter D with music from: BW Stevenson, Diana Ross, Aerosmith, America, Who, Shocking Blue, Bachman Turner Overdrive, Queen, Peter Frampton, Paul Kelly, James Brown, Electric Light Orchestra, Miracles and many more.

3pm to 6pm ET

Thursday 12/30/21 2pm ET: RadioMaxMusic Special: The Music of 1973 A to Z – Part 3

This RadioMax special features our Library of music from 1973 A2Z.

We continue with letter C and start D with music from: Spinners, Byrds, Buckingham Nicks, Led Zeppelin, America, King Harvest, Chicago, Joe Walsh, Doobie Brothers, Elton John, War, Helen Reddy, Who, Jimmy Buffett, Anne Murray, Archie Bell and The Drells and many more.

2pm to 6pm ET

Tuesday 10/19/21 12pm ET: Artist Countdown: Doobie Brothers Top 30 Hits

The Doobie Brothers are an American rock band from San Jose, California, known for their flexibility in performing across numerous genres and their vocal harmonies. Active for five decades, with their greatest success in the 1970s, the group’s current lineup consists of founding members Tom Johnston (guitars, vocals) and Patrick Simmons (guitars, vocals), alongside Michael McDonald (keyboards, vocals) and John McFee (guitars, pedal steel, violin, backing vocals), and touring musicians including John Cowan (bass, vocals), Bill Payne (keyboards), Marc Russo (saxophones), Ed Toth (drums), and Marc Quiñones (percussion). Other long-serving members of the band include guitarist Jeff “Skunk” Baxter (1972–1979), bassist Tiran Porter (1972–1980, 1987–1992) and drummers John Hartman (1970–1979, 1987–1992), Michael Hossack (1971–1973, 1987–2012), and Keith Knudsen (1973–1982, 1993–2005).

Patrick Simmons – guitar, banjo, flute, vocals (1970–82, 1987–91, 1992, 1993–present)
Tom Johnston – vocals, guitar, harmonica (1970–77, 1987–91, 1992, 1993–present)
Michael McDonald – vocals, keyboards (1975–82, 1987, 1992, 1995–96, 2019–present)
John McFee – guitar, violin, pedal steel guitar, vocals (1979–82, 1987, 1993–present)

1What a Fool Believes1979
2The Doctor1989
3Long Train Runnin’1973
4Listen to the Music1972
5Black Water1974
6Real Love1980
7Take Me in Your Arms (Rock Me)1975
8Minute by Minute1979
9China Grove1973
10Need a Little Taste of Love1989
11Jesus Is Just Alright1972
12Dependin’ on You1979
13Takin’ It to the Streets1976
14One Step Closer1980
15It Keeps You Runnin’1976
17Little Darling (I Need You)1977
18Wynken, Blynken & Nod1980
19Rollin’ On1991
20Ordinary Man2001
21South of the Border1989
22Another Park, Another Sunday1974
23Sweet Maxine1975
24Eyes of Silver1974
26I Cheat the Hangman1975
27Keep This Train A-Rollin’1981
28Here to Love You1982
29Echoes of Love1977
30You Belong to Me (live)1983

Thursday 10/7/21 10pm ET: Feature LP: Doobie Brothers – Liberté (2021)

The Doobie Brothers released their first new studio album featuring all-new songs in over a decade on October 1, 2021.

Liberté features 12 original tunes by the group’s core members — Tom Johnston, Pat Simmons and John McFee — produced and co-written with John Shanks, who’s previously collaborated with Bon Jovi, Stevie Nicks and many others.

The album is The Doobie Brothers’ 15th full-length studio effort and their first album of new songs since 2010’s World Gone Crazy. It’s available now on CD and digital formats.

Coinciding with Liberté‘s arrival, the band has debuted a lyric video for one of the new songs, “Shine Your Light,” on their YouTube channel.

In addition, to celebrate the albums release, The Doobie Brothers will perform and be interviewed as part of a special that will be streamed on YouTube.com starting at 7 p.m. ET.

The Doobie Brothers gave fans an early preview of Liberté in August, when they issued a self-titled digital EP featuring four songs from the album — “Oh Mexico,” “Cannonball,” “Don’t Ya Mess with Me” and “Better Days.”

Also in August, the Rock & Roll Hall of Famers finally launched their 50th anniversary tour, which was postponed from 2020 because of the COVID-19 pandemic. The trek, which sees former singer/keyboardist Michael McDonald rejoining the group, continues tonight in Spokane, Washington. The 2021 portion of the outing wraps up with an October 29 concert in Allentown, Pennsylvania, while a second leg is scheduled to begin on June 2, 2022, in West Palm Beach, Florida.

1 Oh Mexico 3:22
2 Better Days 3:23
3 Don’t Ya Mess With Me 3:33
4 Cannonball 3:44
5 Wherever We Go 4:02
6 The American Dream 3:50
7 Shine Your Light 3:52
8 We Are More Than Love 3:25
9 Easy 2:59
10 Just Can’t Do This Alone 3:19
11 Good Thang 3:10
12 Amen Old Friend 4:14

Monday 6/21/21 2pm ET: Sounds of The 70’s (Actual start 1:30)

The best music from 1970 – 1979 featuring tunes from: Billy Paul, Bonnie Pointer, Outlaws, Paper Lace, Diana Ross, Andy Gibb, Don McLean, Led Zeppelin, Eric Clapton and more . . .