Wednesday 1am: Feature LP: Avicii – Tim (2019)

June 12, 2019
Editor In Chief

Tim (stylised as TIM) is the posthumous third studio album by Swedish producer Tim Bergling, known by the stage name Avicii, released on 6 June 2019. It is his first album release following his death on 20 April 2018. It includes the single “SOS”, which was released on 10 April 2019. It is his third studio album, serving as the follow-up to his 2015 album Stories. All profits from sales of the album will go towards the Tim Bergling Foundation, set up following Avicii’s suicide, for mental health awareness.

1. “Peace of Mind” (featuring Vargas & Lagola) 3:00
2. “Heaven” 4:37
3. “SOS” (featuring Aloe Blacc) 2:37
4. “Tough Love” (featuring Agnes and Vargas & Lagola) 3:11
5. “Bad Reputation” (featuring Joe Janiak) 3:25
6. “Ain’t a Thing” (featuring Bonn) 3:03
7. “Hold the Line” (featuring A R I Z O N A) 2:51
8. “Freak” (featuring Bonn) 2:59
9. “Excuse Me Mr. Sir” (featuring Vargas & Lagola) 3:07
10. “Heart Upon My Sleeve” (with Imagine Dragons) 4:14
11. “Never Leave Me” (featuring Joe Janiak) 2:51
12. “Fades Away” (featuring Noonie Bao) 2:58

Wednesday 12am: Feature LP: Santana Feat. Buika – Africa Speaks (2019)

June 11, 2019
Editor In Chief

Africa Speaks is the twenty-fifth studio album (thirty ninth album overall) by the band Santana, released on Concord Records on June 7, 2019.

The album was produced during a 10-day recording session by Rick Rubin at Rubin’s Shangri La Studios in Malibu, during which they recorded 49 songs. Rubin and Carlos Santana used an eight-piece band (which included Santana’s wife, Cindy Blackman Santana, on drums).

The first track from the album, “Breaking Down the Door”, was released on April 19, 2019. In January 2019, Santana released the EP In Search of Mona Lisa, which served as a preamble to the LP.

1. “Africa Speaks” 4:47
2. “Batonga” 5:43
3. “Oye Este Mi Canto” 5:58
4. “Yo Me Lo Merezco” 6:12
5. “Blue Skies” 9:08
6. “Paraísos Quemados” 5:59
7. “Breaking Down the Door” 4:30
8. “Los Invisibles” 5:54
9. “Luna Hechicera” 4:47
10. “Bambele” 5:51
11. “Candombe Cumbele” 5:36

Friday 12am: Feature LP: Duff McKagan – Tenderness (2019)

June 6, 2019
Editor In Chief

Tenderness is the third solo album by Duff McKagan, released on May 31, 2019.

The album was inspired by McKagan’s global travels on Guns N’ Roses’ Not in This Lifetime… Tour and is considered a musical follow up to his 2015 How to be a Man book. The recording of the album began in-between McKagan’s tour with Guns N’ Roses and featured collaborations with Shooter Jennings, The Waters and The Suicide Horn Section, amongst others.

The song “Last September” was written as a warning in support of Me Too movement with its lyrics detailing an unwanted sexual encounter.

“Tenderness” – 4:03
“It’s Not Too Late” – 4:09
“Wasted Heart” – 4:41
“Falling Down” – 3:10
“Last September” – 6:21
“Chip Away” – 3:21
“Cold Outside” – 4:42
“Feel” – 4:38
“Breaking Rocks” – 3:02
“Parkland” – 3:34
“Don’t Look Behind You” – 6:14

Thursday 11pm: Feature LP: England Dan and John Ford Coley – Dr. Heckle and Mr. Jive (1979)

June 6, 2019
Editor In Chief

Dr. Heckle and Mr. Jive is the seventh album by the pop rock duo England Dan & John Ford Coley release in March 1979. The single “Love Is the Answer” was an American hit, reaching #10. Two other songs on the album later became country and pop hits for other artists: “Broken Hearted Me” was a success for Anne Murray in 1979, and Michael Martin Murphey scored a hit with “What’s Forever For” in 1982.

“Hollywood Heckle and Jive”
“What Can I Do With This Broken Heart”
“Another Golden Oldie Night For Wendy”
“Broken Hearted Me”
“Children of the Half-Light”
“Rolling Fever”
“Love Is the Answer”
“Only A Matter of Time”
“Caught Up In The Middle”
“Running After You”
“What’s Forever For”

Friday 12am: Feature LP: Maddie Poppe – Whirlwind (2019)

May 30, 2019
Editor In Chief

1. Not Losing You 3:46
2. First Aid Kit 3:51
3. Nothing Good Comes Out Of California 3:01
4. Wild Flowers 3:03
5. Made You Miss 3:22
6. Take It Out On You 3:19
7. Skeletons 3:51
8. Postcard From Me 3:03
9. Little Things 3:11
10. Roses 3:18

Thursday 11pm: Feature LP: Kenny Wayne Shepherd Band – The Traveler (2019)

May 30, 2019
Editor In Chief

1 Woman Like You
2 Long Time Running
3 I Want You
4 Tailwind
5 Gravity
6 We All Alright
7 Take It On Home
8 Mr. Soul
9 Better With Time
10 Turn To Stone

Thursday 11pm: Feature LP: Sammy Hagar & The Circle – Space Between (2019)

May 16, 2019
Editor In Chief

AllMusic Review by Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Sammy Hagar calls his band — either his fifth or sixth, depending if HSAS is counted or not — the Circle because this quartet brings him back to where he started. A look at the band’s lineup illustrates why Hagar believes this to be true. Within the Circle, Hagar surrounds himself with some old running mates — notably, former Van Halen bassist Michael Anthony anchors the group, but Waboritas guitarist Vic Johnson also has a prominent place in the band, while drummer Jason Bonham provides a reminder of the Zeppelin influence on Hagar’s earliest band, Montrose. Despite being so strongly rooted in the past, the Circle plays for the present, cranking the amps to 11 and pushing Bonham’s beat toward the forefront. The heaviness is so bracing that the hooky pair of “Bottom Line” and “No Worries” comes as somewhat of a relief halfway through the album; not only are they more melodic, they are nimble, demonstrating that this group of old pros can keep it light if they so choose. For the rest of The Space Between, they choose heaviosity. It’s a forceful, powerful sound that gains a bit of depth thanks to Hagar’s inscrutable social commentary — he’s against a spoiled “Trust Fund Baby” and happy to be a “Free Man” — but for as invigorating as the sheer wallop of the Circle can be, it proves a bit exhausting in the long run.

01 Devil Came to Philly 2:35
02 Full Circle Jam (Chump Change) 3:38
03 Can’t Hang 3:57
04 Wide Open Space 3:46
05 Free Man 4:20
06 Bottom Line 2:43
07 No Worries 3:27
08 Trust Fund Baby 4:15
09 Affirmation 3:20
10 Hey Hey (Without Greed) 2:51

A Website.
%d bloggers like this: