Tag: Pearl Jam

Thursday 8/25/22 11pm ET: Feature LP: Pearl Jam – Ten (1991)

Ten is the debut studio album by American rock band Pearl Jam, released on August 27, 1991, through Epic Records. Following the dissolution of their previous band Mother Love Bone in 1990, bassist Jeff Ament and guitarist Stone Gossard began rehearsing with new guitarist Mike McCready. The group recorded a five-song instrumental demo tape with Matt Cameron on drums. Copies of the demo were eventually given to drummer Dave Krusen and vocalist Eddie Vedder, both of whom were invited to audition for the band in Seattle. Many of the songs on Ten were instrumental jams or reworked Mother Love Bone songs for which Vedder composed new melodies and lyrics.

Despite its reputation as a quintessential grunge album, Ten is often noted for displaying a stronger classic rock influence than other contemporary grunge releases. In a review for AllMusic, Steve Huey asserts that the band’s “intricately arranged guitar textures and expansive harmonic vocabulary… especially recalled Jimi Hendrix and Led Zeppelin” and characterizes the album as having an “anthemic” and “warm, rich sound”. Huey also praises Vedder for the “highly distinctive timbre” of his vocals and for the “passionate commitment of his delivery”.

Ten was not an immediate success, but by late 1992 it had reached number two on the Billboard 200. The album produced three hit singles: “Alive”, “Even Flow”, and “Jeremy”. “Jeremy” became one of Pearl Jam’s best-known songs, and received nominations for Best Rock Song and Best Hard Rock Performance at the 35th Grammy Awards. The video for “Jeremy” was heavily rotated by MTV, and received four awards at the 1993 MTV Video Music Awards, including Video of the Year and Best Group Video.

Beyond its role in consolidating the mainstream success of grunge rock in the early 1990s, Ten is generally considered to have been instrumental in the rise and dominance of alternative rock throughout the decade. The album has since been ranked by several publications as one of the greatest albums of all time. By February 2013, it had sold 13 million copies in the US, becoming the 22nd record to do so in the Nielsen SoundScan era and has been certified 13× Platinum by the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA). Ten remains Pearl Jam’s most commercially successful album.

  1. “Once” 3:51
  2. “Even Flow” 4:53
  3. “Alive” 5:41
  4. “Why Go” 3:20
  5. “Black” 5:43
  6. “Jeremy” 5:18
  7. “Oceans” 2:42
  8. “Porch” 3:30
  9. “Garden” 4:59
  10. “Deep” 4:18
  11. “Release” 9:05

Jeff Ament – bass guitar, art direction/concept, background vocals on “Why Go”
Stone Gossard – rhythm guitar, background vocals on “Why Go”
Dave Krusen – drums, timpani
Mike McCready – lead guitar
Eddie Vedder – vocals, additional art
Walter Gray – cello
Rick Parashar – production, piano, organ, percussion
Tim Palmer – fire extinguisher and pepper shaker on “Oceans”, mixing

Wednesday 1/19/22 12am ET: Feature LP: Pearl Jam – Vitalogy

Vitalogy is the third studio album by American rock band Pearl Jam, released on November 22, 1994, on Epic Records. Pearl Jam wrote and recorded Vitalogy while touring behind its previous album Vs. (1993). The music on the record was more diverse than previous releases, and consisted of aggressive rock songs, ballads, and other stylistic elements, making it Pearl Jam’s most experimental album to date.

The album was first released on vinyl, followed by a release on CD and cassette two weeks later on December 6, 1994. The LP sold 34,000 copies in its first week of release, and until Jack White’s 2014 album Lazaretto it held the record for most vinyl sales in one week since SoundScan began tracking sales in 1991. Upon its CD release, Vitalogy became the second-fastest selling album in history, only behind the band’s previous release Vs., selling 877,000 copies in its first week and went multi-platinum quickly. The album has been certified five times platinum by the RIAA in the United States. It is Pearl Jam’s last album to feature drummer Dave Abbruzzese, who left the band before the recording session was finished. He was initially replaced by session drummers and later officially replaced by former Red Hot Chili Peppers’ drummer Jack Irons, who completed recording of the album.

  1. “Last Exit” 2:54
  2. “Spin the Black Circle” 2:47
  3. “Not for You” 5:52
  4. “Tremor Christ” 4:12
  5. “Nothingman” 4:35
  6. “Whipping” 2:34
  7. “Pry, To” 1:03
  8. “Corduroy” 4:37
  9. “Bugs” 2:44
  10. “Satan’s Bed” 3:30
  11. “Better Man” 4:28
  12. “Aye Davanita” 2:57
  13. “Immortality” 5:28

Dave Abbruzzese – drums
Jeff Ament – bass guitar, vocals, double bass, black-and-white photography
Stone Gossard – guitar, vocals, mellotron

Jack Irons – drums
Mike McCready – guitar, slide guitar
Eddie Vedder – vocals, guitar, accordion on “Bugs”; credited as “e.v.” for book concept, theory of Vitalogy, typist

Wednesday 12am ET: Feature LP: Pearl Jam – Gigaton (2020)

Gigaton is the eleventh studio album by the American rock band Pearl Jam, released on March 27, 2020. It was preceded by the singles “Dance of the Clairvoyants”, “Superblood Wolfmoon” and “Quick Escape”. It is the band’s first studio album in seven years. The album’s track listing was confirmed by the band on January 20, 2020. The cover artwork was produced by photographer Paul Nicklen. Its release was scheduled to coincide with a tour of North America. However, the North American leg was postponed due to the 2019–20 coronavirus pandemic, with the aim to reschedule them for a later date.

1. “Who Ever Said” 5:11
2. “Superblood Wolfmoon” 3:49
3. “Dance of the Clairvoyants” 4:26
4. “Quick Escape” 4:47
5. “Alright” Ament 3:44
6. “Seven O’Clock” 6:14
7. “Never Destination” 4:17
8. “Take the Long Way” 3:42
9. “Buckle Up” 3:37
10. “Comes Then Goes” 6:02
11. “Retrograde” 5:22
12. “River Cross” 5:53

Monday 3pm ET: Feature Artist – Pearl Jam

Pearl Jam is an American rock band formed in 1990 in Seattle, Washington. The band’s current lineup comprises founding members Eddie Vedder (lead vocals, guitar), Mike McCready (lead guitar), Stone Gossard (rhythm guitar) and Jeff Ament (bass) as well as drummer Matt Cameron, who joined in 1998. Keyboardist Boom Gaspar has also been a session/touring member with the band since 2002. Drummers Jack Irons, Dave Krusen, Matt Chamberlain and Dave Abbruzzese are former members of the band.

Formed after the demise of Gossard and Ament’s previous band, Mother Love Bone, Pearl Jam broke into the mainstream with its debut album, Ten, in 1991. One of the key bands in the grunge movement of the early 1990s, its members often shunned popular music industry practices such as making music videos or giving interviews. The band also sued Ticketmaster, claiming it had monopolized the concert-ticket market. In 2006, Rolling Stone described the band as having “spent much of the past decade deliberately tearing apart their own fame.”

The band had sold nearly 32 million albums in the United States by 2012, and by 2018, they had sold more than 85 million albums worldwide. Pearl Jam outsold many of its contemporary alternative rock bands from the early 1990s, and is considered one of the most influential bands of the decade. AllMusic editor Stephen Thomas Erlewine referred to Pearl Jam as “the most popular American rock & roll band of the ’90s”. Pearl Jam was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame on April 7, 2017, in its first year of eligibility. They were ranked at no. 8 in a reader poll by Rolling Stone magazine in its “Top Ten Live Acts of All Time” issue.

Sunday 12am: The Rock Show

This week on the Rock Show – Ratt, Bachman Turner Overdrive, Electric Light Orchestra, Journey, Deep Purple, Pink Floyd, Cars, Pearl Jam, Judas Priest, Vixen, Doobie Brothers, Marshall Tucker Band and more . . .