Wednesday 2pm: Sounds of The 70s

June 12, 2019
Editor In Chief

This week on the Sounds of The 70’s:  Paul McCartney & Wings, Neil Sedaka, Elton John, Pilot, Dire Straits, Bee Gees, Dawn, Linda Ronstadt, Atlanta Rhythm Section, Joe Cocker, Doobie Brothers and more . . .

Tuesday 2pm: Sounds of The 80s

June 11, 2019
Editor In Chief

This week we feature music from:  Journey, Stray Cats, Juice Newton, Planet P Project, Peter Tosh, Elton John, Dicks, Toto, Huey Lewis and The News, Stevie Nicks, .38 Special, Lionel Richie, Robert Palmer and more . .  .

Wednesday 11pm: Top 100 Albums of The 70s – #88 – Elton John – Don’t Shoot Me I’m Only the Piano Player (1973)

May 15, 2019
Editor In Chief

Don’t Shoot Me I’m Only the Piano Player is the sixth studio album by Elton John. Released in January 26, 1973 by DJM Records, and was his second straight No. 1 album in the US, yielding his first No. 1 single in both the US and Canada: “Crocodile Rock”. “Daniel” was also a major hit from the album, giving him his second Canadian No. 1 single on the RPM Top Singles Chart and just missing the top slot south of the border, still reaching a successful No. 2 on the US Billboard Hot 100 and reaching No. 4 in the UK, one place higher than achieved by “Crocodile Rock”.

The album’s title comes from something Elton said during an evening spent with Groucho Marx. After an evening of constant ribbing from Marx, Elton’s comeback was to hold his hands up and say, “Don’t shoot me, I’m only the piano player.” The album’s cover photograph, which shows a young couple outside a movie theatre whose marquee reads: Don’t Shoot Me I’m Only The Piano Player starring Elton John, also includes a movie poster of the Marx Brothers’ film Go West. Whether this was an intentional tribute to Groucho, or merely a coincidence, is uncertain.

The title is also a play on the 1960 François Truffaut film Shoot the Piano Player and the original Oscar Wilde quote “Don’t shoot the piano player, he’s doing his best”, which Wilde said he saw in a saloon on a visit to the U.S.

“Daniel” – 3:54
“Teacher I Need You” – 4:10
“Elderberry Wine” – 3:34
“Blues for My Baby and Me” – 5:42
“Midnight Creeper” – 3:55
“Have Mercy on the Criminal” – 5:57
“I’m Gonna Be a Teenage Idol” – 3:55
“Texan Love Song” – 3:33
“Crocodile Rock” – 3:58
“High Flying Bird” – 4:12

Tuesday 2pm: Sounds of The 80’s

May 14, 2019
Editor In Chief

This week on Sounds of The 80’s:  Bruce Springsteen, Eddie Murphy, Kenny Rogers, Dire Straits, Robert John, Prince, Ramones, Air Supply, Steely Dan, America, Boston, Elton John, Poison, Stevie Nicks, Queen, Men At Work and many many more .. . 

May 7, 2019
Editor In Chief

Tuesday 1pm: Sounds of The 80s

Wednesday 10pm: Feature LP: Elton John – Duets (1993)

May 1, 2019
Editor In Chief

Duets is the first collaboration album by the English singer-songwriter Elton John, released in 1993.

Duets was released on a single CD, a single cassette and also as a double vinyl LP in the UK, with a slightly different running order. It was initially a Christmas project of John’s, but that soon grew into an album, Elton John’s Christmas Party, of its own. The live version of “Don’t Let the Sun Go Down on Me” with George Michael, track number 15 on the album, had already become a UK/US No. 1 hit in 1991. Three singles were released from the album in Britain: “True Love” (with Kiki Dee, reached #2), “Don’t Go Breaking My Heart” (with drag queen RuPaul, reached #7) and “Ain’t Nothing Like the Real Thing” (with Marcella Detroit, reached #24). The album debuted at No. 7 in the UK. This is one of only 3 albums released between 1983 and 2016 without John’s regular guitar player, Davey Johnstone. In the US, it was certified gold and platinum in January 1994 by the RIAA.

1. “Teardrops” (with k.d. lang) 4:55
2. “When I Think About Love (I Think About You)” (with P.M. Dawn) 4:34
3. “The Power” (with Little Richard) 6:25
4. “Shakey Ground” (with Don Henley) 3:52
5. “True Love” (with Kiki Dee) 3:35
6. “If You Were Me” (with Chris Rea) 4:26
7. “A Woman’s Needs” (with Tammy Wynette) 5:19
8. “Old Friend” (with Nik Kershaw) Nik Kershaw 4:17
9. “Go On and On” (with Gladys Knight) 5:50
10. “Don’t Go Breaking My Heart” (with RuPaul)r 5:00
11. “Ain’t Nothing Like the Real Thing” (with Marcella Detroit) 3:36
12. “I’m Your Puppet” (with Paul Young) 3:36
13. “Love Letters” (with Bonnie Raitt) 4:01
14. “Born to Lose” (with Leonard Cohen) 4:33
15. “Don’t Let the Sun Go Down on Me” (live, with George Michael) 5:48
16. “Duets for One” 4:52
17. “The Show Must Go On” (live, with Queen) 4:25

Wednesday 1pm: Sounds Of The 70’s

May 1, 2019
Editor In Chief

This we an extended edition of The Sounds of The 70’s.  This week music from – Minnie Ripperton, David Bowie, Supertramp, Addrisi Brothers, Rod Stewart, Hues Corporation, Bob Dylan, Elton John, Chicago and more . . .

A Website.
%d bloggers like this: