Tag: Rockpile

Wednesday 7/13/22 1am ET: Live Track Show


Rod Stewart, Fleetwood Mac, Joe Cocker, CCR, Genesis, Pink Floyd, Alice Cooper, Dave Matthews Band, Rockpile, Jethro Tull, Chuck Berry, Neil Young, Who, America, Iron Maiden, Tori Amos, Supertramp, Three Dog Night, Daryl Hall and John Oates, Specials, Air Supply, Sheryl Crow, Melissa Etheridge, Wings, Queen, Cars, Firehouse,

Thursday 12/30/21 6pm ET: RadioMaxMusic Special: The Music of 1980 A to Z – Part 25

This RadioMax special features our Library of music from 1980 A2Z.

We complete our review of the RadioMaxMusic Library of 1980 music. This installment features music from Electric Light Orchestra, Pat Benatar, Dr. Hook, Billy Joel, Joan Jett and The Blackhearts, Tommy James, Eddy Raven, Lou Rawls, Diana Ross, Ambrosia, Bonnie Raitt and many more. We start our travel into the next segment 1981 next Tuesday.

6pm – 9:30pm ET

Wednesday 12/29/21 8pm ET: RadioMaxMusic Special: The Music of 1980 A to Z – Part 24

This RadioMax special features our Library of music from 1980 A2Z.

We are moving into the final segments of 1980 music. This installment features music from Dickey Lee, Barbra Streisand, Rossington-Collins Band, Jerry Reed, Pat Benatar, Hoyt Axton, Red Rider, Joni Mitchell, Elton John, Rockpile, Romantics, Devo, Poco, Journey and many more. Tomorrow we feature the completion of this segment and start our travel into 1981 next Tuesday.

8pm – 12am ET

Friday 12/10/21 11pm ET: Feature LP: Rockpile – Seconds of Pleasure (1980)

Seconds of Pleasure is an album by Rockpile a band consisting of guitarists/vocalists Dave Edmunds and Billy Bremner, bassist/vocalist Nick Lowe, and drummer Terry Williams. Released in October 1980, the band had played together on various solo albums by Edmunds and Lowe in previous years, but Seconds of Pleasure would be the first (and only) album released under the Rockpile name.

The album’s opening track, “Teacher, Teacher”, became a minor hit on the Billboard Hot 100. The song was written by Kenny Pickett and Eddie Phillips, both of whom were former members of the 1960s British rock band The Creation. The song appears in the opening credits of the 2011 film, Bad Teacher.

A four-song EP, Nick Lowe & Dave Edmunds Sing the Everly Brothers, was included in the first pressings of the LP; the songs were later included on the album’s various CD versions.

The front cover is a painting by the designer Barney Bubbles, who used pseudonyms and rarely signed his work. This is signed “Dag”.

“Teacher, Teacher” – 2:36
“If Sugar Was As Sweet As You” – 2:35
“Heart” – 2:38
“Now and Always” – 1:58
“A Knife and a Fork” – 3:18
“Play That Fast Thing (One More Time)” – 4:13
“Wrong Again (Let’s Face It)” – 2:23
“Pet You and Hold You” – 3:13
“Oh What a Thrill” – 3:06
“When I Write the Book” – 3:17
“Fool Too Long” – 2:51
“You Ain’t Nothin’ But Fine” – 2:54
“Take a Message to Mary” – 2:28
“Crying in the Rain” – 2:04
“Poor Jenny” – 2:28
“When Will I Be Loved” – 2:14
“Back to Schooldays” – 3:31
“They Called It Rock” – 3:20
“Crawling from the Wreckage” – 3:07

Billy Bremner – guitar, vocals
Dave Edmunds – guitar, vocals, piano, organ
Nick Lowe – bass, vocals
Terry Williams – drums