Tag: Andrew Gold

Saturday 7/31/21 12pm ET: Feature Artist: Andrew Gold

Andrew Maurice Gold (August 2, 1951 – June 3, 2011) was an American multi-instrumentalist, singer, songwriter, and record producer who influenced much of the Los Angeles-dominated pop/soft rock sound in the 1970s. Gold played on scores of records by other artists, most notably Linda Ronstadt’s, and had his own success with the U.S. top 40 hits “Lonely Boy” (1977) and “Thank You for Being a Friend” (1978), as well as the UK top five hit “Never Let Her Slip Away” (1978). In the 1980s, he had further international chart success as one half of Wax, a collaboration with 10cc’s Graham Gouldman.

During the 1990s, Gold produced, composed, performed on and wrote tracks for films, commercials, and television soundtracks, such as “Final Frontier”, the theme of the sitcom Mad About You. Some of his older works later experienced newfound popularity: “Thank You for Being a Friend” was used as the opening theme for The Golden Girls, and the children’s novelty song “Spooky Scary Skeletons” (1996) became an Internet meme in the 2010s. In 1997, Gold released a tribute to 1960s psychedelic music, Greetings from Planet Love, issued under the pseudonym “the Fraternal Order of the All”.

Gold was diagnosed with kidney cancer and responded well to treatment, but on June 3, 2011, he died in his sleep from what is suspected to have been heart failure at age 59 in Los Angeles.

Monday 1/18/2021 12am ET: Feature LP: Andrew Gold – What’s Wrong with This Picture? (1976)

What’s Wrong with This Picture? is the second album by the singer-songwriter Andrew Gold. It was released in 1976 on Asylum Records. It includes the hit single “Lonely Boy” which peaked at No. 7 on the Billboard singles chart featuring Linda Ronstadt on backing vocals. The album’s artwork reflects its title, mimicking a style of visual puzzle that consists of various logical inconsistencies or paradoxes for the viewer to try to identify.

1. “Hope You Feel Good” 4:49
2. “Passing Thing” 4:08
3. “Do Wah Diddy Diddy” 2:52
4. “Learning the Game” 4:08
5. “Angel Woman” 1:38
6. “Must Be Crazy” 4:13

1. “Lonely Boy” 4:24
2. “Firefly” 3:23
3. “Stay” 4:45
4. “Go Back Home Again” 3:10
5. “One of Them Is Me” 4:00

Andrew Gold – vocals, acoustic and electric guitar, piano, drums, bass guitar, organ, ARP, tambourine, congas, shaker, recorder, percussion, backing vocals
Kenny Edwards – bass guitar, mandolin, backing vocals
Brock Walsh – backing vocals, electric piano, acoustic guitar, ARP
Dan Dugmore – guitar
Mike Botts – drums, sleigh bells
Peter Asher – backing vocals, tambourine, shaker
Waddy Wachtel – guitar, bass guitar
Leland Sklar – bass guitar
Russ Kunkel – drums
Danny Kortchmar – guitar
Linda Ronstadt – backing vocals
Tessie Coen – congas
Don Menza – saxophone, shakuhachi
Clarence McDonald – electric piano
Val Garay – backing vocals


Thursday 8pm: Across The Tracks: Featuring – One (Part 8)

This installment of Across The Tracks feature tunes with “ONE” in the title.  We’ll feature music from Darius Rucker, Elton John, April, Rod Stewart, Abba, Helen Reddy, Clint Black, Andrew Gold, Jack Johnson and much more across the tracks and genres.  

Sounds of The 70s with Dan Varroney 7pm ET

70sTonight we’ll feature Steely Dan, The Four Seasons, Heart, Andrew Gold, Daniel Boone, Leo Sayer, James Taylor, Manfred Mann, Dave Mason, The Who, Bob Welch, Triumph, Jimmy Buffet,  Kiss, Boz Scaggs, Supertramp, and much more. Join us at 7:00 pm!