Tag: Yoko Ono

Monday 1/4/2021 12am ET: Feature LP: John Lennon & Yoko Ono – Double Fantasy (1980)

Double Fantasy is the fifth album by John Lennon and Yoko Ono, released in November 1980 on Geffen Records. Produced by Lennon, Ono and Jack Douglas, it was the seventh and final studio album released by Lennon during his lifetime. The album marked Lennon’s return to recording music full-time, following his five-year hiatus to raise his son Sean. Recording sessions took place at The Hit Factory in New York City between August and October 1980. The final album features songs from both Lennon and Ono, largely alternating between the two in its track listing. Other tracks recorded by Lennon from the sessions were compiled by Ono for release on Milk and Honey in 1984.

Upon its release, the album stalled on music charts and received largely negative reviews from music critics, with many focusing on the album’s idealisation of Lennon and Ono’s marriage. However, following Lennon’s murder three weeks after its release, it became a worldwide commercial success and went on to win the 1981 Grammy Award for Album of the Year at the 24th Annual Grammy Awards in 1982. In subsequent decades, the album has been viewed favourably, with Lennon’s songs in particular garnering praise as some of his finest.

In 2010, Ono and Douglas released a remix of the album, titled Double Fantasy Stripped Down, which featured less lavish production than the original.

1. “(Just Like) Starting Over” 3:56
2. “Kiss Kiss Kiss” 2:42
3. “Cleanup Time” 2:58
4. “Give Me Something” 1:35
5. “I’m Losing You” 3:57
6. “I’m Moving On” 2:20
7. “Beautiful Boy (Darling Boy)” 4:02

1. “Watching the Wheels” 4:00
2. “Yes, I’m Your Angel” 3:08
3. “Woman” 3:32
4. “Beautiful Boys” 2:55
5. “Dear Yoko” 2:34
6. “Every Man Has a Woman Who Loves Him” 4:02
7. “Hard Times Are Over” 3:20

15. “Help Me to Help Myself” 2:37
16. “Walking on Thin Ice” 6:00
17. “Central Park Stroll” (dialogue) 0:17

John Lennon – lead, harmony and background vocals, rhythm guitar, acoustic guitar, piano, keyboards, synthesiser, arranger and producer
Yoko Ono – lead and background vocals, arranger and producer
Randal S Turner – background vocals
Jack Douglas – arranger and producer
Earl Slick – lead guitar
Hugh McCracken – lead guitar
Tony Levin – bass guitar
George Small – keyboards, piano, synthesizer
Andy Newmark – drums
Arthur Jenkins – percussion
Ed Walsh – keyboards, synthesiser
Randy Stein – English concertina
Robert Greenidge – steel drum on “Beautiful Boy”
Matthew Cunningham – hammer dulcimer on “Watching the Wheels”
Howard Johnson – horns
Grant Hungerford – horns
John Parran – horns
Seldon Powell – horns
George “Young” Opalisky – horns
Roger Rosenberg – horns
David Tofani – horns
Ronald Tooley – horns
Tony Davillo – horn arrangements and musical associate
Cas Mijac (Michelle Simpson, Cassandra Wooten, Cheryl Mason Jacks), Eric Troyer, Benny Cummings Singers, The Kings Temple Choir – background vocals