Tag: Tubes

Friday 3/12/21 12am ET: Feature LP: Tubes – Outside Inside (1983)

Outside Inside is an album by The Tubes released April 4, 1983. It was the second album by the group to be released by Capitol Records. The album was produced by David Foster. The Tubes had their biggest radio hit with the single from this album, “She’s a Beauty”.

Early US copies of the album used embossed lettering for the eye chart on the front cover. This made the lettering hard to read. A later version of the cover had the eye chart along with artist and title information printed in red and blue.

There are 2 different versions of the song “The Monkey Time”. The original included guest vocals from Martha Davis of The Motels. Other copies used a version with Davis’ vocal replaced by Michele Gray. Gray was one of The Tubes principal dancers from 1983–1985, and later married frequent Tubes collaborator and producer Todd Rundgren.

“She’s a Beauty” – 4:01
“No Not Again” – 3:28
“Out of the Business” – 3:30
“The Monkey Time” – 3:54
“Glass House” – 3:31
“Wild Women of Wongo” – 3:57
“Tip of My Tongue” – 3:58
“Fantastic Delusion” – 3:54
“Drums” – 2:21
“Theme Park” – 3:13
“Outside Lookin’ Inside” – 0:57
“The Monkey Time” Featuring Michelle Gray

Rick Anderson – Bass
Michael Cotten – Synthesizer
Mingo Lewis – Percussion
Prairie Prince – Drums, Producer, Art Direction
Bill Spooner – Guitar, Vocals
Roger Steen – Guitar, Vocals
Fee Waybill – Vocals, Mixing
Vince Welnick – Keyboards

Maurice White
Patti Austin – Background vocals
Martha Davis – Vocals
Nathan East – Bass
Chuck Findley – Horn
David Foster – Keyboards, Producer
Gary Grant – Horn
Jay Graydon
Gary Herbig – Horn
Jerry Hey – Arranger, Horn
James Newton Howard – Keyboards
Steve Lukather – Guitar
David Paich – Keyboards
Steve Porcaro – Keyboards
Bill Reichenbach Jr. – Horn
Freddy Washington – Bass
David Williams – Guitar
Larry Williams – Horn


Wednesday 9/16/2020 10am ET: Feature Artist: The Tubes

The Tubes are a San Francisco-based rock band. Their eponymous 1975 debut album included the single “White Punks on Dope,” while their 1983 single “She’s a Beauty” was a top-10 U.S. hit and its music video was frequently played in the early days of MTV. The band also performed in the 1980 film Xanadu, singing the rock portion of the cross-genre song “Dancin'” opposite a big band.

Friday 7/17/2020 12am ET: Feature LP: Tubes – Completion Backward Principle

The Completion Backward Principle is the sixth studio album released April 1981 by the American rock group the Tubes. It is the group’s first for Capitol Records. It was accompanied by a long form music video release of the same name, although it did not contain all of the songs from the album. It is a concept album presented as a motivational business document. The album contains two hit singles, “Don’t Want to Wait Anymore” and “Talk to Ya Later.”

“Talk to Ya Later” [4:29]
“Sushi Girl” [3:26]
“Amnesia” [4:26]
“Mr. Hate” [3:41]
“Attack of the 50 Foot Woman” [4:29]
“Think About Me” [3:16]
“A Matter of Pride” [3:14]
“Don’t Want to Wait Anymore” [4:16]
“Power Tools” [4:03]
“Let’s Make Some Noise” [3:42]

Wednesday 2pm: Sounds of The 70’s

This week we feature music from; Beach Boys, Tavares, Olivia Newton-john, Electric Light Orchestra, Tubes, Elton John, Dan Hartman, Police, Eagles, Hot, Dire Straits, Badfinger, Cat Stevens, Boston, Chic, Bad Company and more . . .