Tagged Rolling Stones

Tuesday 10pm ET: Feature LP: Rolling Stones – 40 Licks (2002)

Forty Licks is a double compilation album by The Rolling Stones. Released September 30, 2002. A 40-year career-spanning retrospective, Forty Licks is notable for being the first retrospective to combine their formative Decca/London era of the 1960s, now licensed by ABKCO Records (on disc one), with their self-owned post-1970 material, distributed at the time by Virgin/EMI but now distributed by ABKCO’s own distributor Universal Music Group (on mostly disc two). Four new songs are included on the second disc. The album was a commercial success, as it reached No. 2 on both UK and US charts and went on to sell over 7.5 million copies worldwide. Concurrently with the album’s release, the Stones embarked on the successful, year-long international Licks Tour, which would result in Live Licks in 2004.

1. “Street Fighting Man” 3:15
2. “Gimme Shelter” 4:31
3. “(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction” 3:43
4. “The Last Time” 3:41
5. “Jumpin’ Jack Flash” Through the Past, Darkly 3:42
6. “You Can’t Always Get What You Want” 7:28
7. “19th Nervous Breakdown” 3:56
8. “Under My Thumb” 3:41
9. “Not Fade Away” 1:48
10. “Have You Seen Your Mother, Baby, Standing in the Shadow?” 2:36
11. “Sympathy for the Devil” 6:17
12. “Mother’s Little Helper” 2:46
13. “She’s a Rainbow” (Single version) 4:13
14. “Get Off of My Cloud” 2:55
15. “Wild Horses” 5:43
16. “Ruby Tuesday” 3:13
17. “Paint It Black” 3:44
18. “Honky Tonk Women” 3:00
19. “It’s All Over Now” 3:26
20. “Let’s Spend the Night Together” 3:26

1. “Start Me Up” 3:33
2. “Brown Sugar” 3:50
3. “Miss You” (Single version) 3:35
4. “Beast of Burden” (Single version) 3:28
5. “Don’t Stop” 3:59
6. “Happy” 3:05
7. “Angie” 4:32
8. “You Got Me Rocking” 3:34
9. “Shattered” 3:46
10. “Fool to Cry” (Single version) 4:07
11. “Love Is Strong” 3:48
12. “Mixed Emotions” 4:01
13. “Keys to Your Love” 4:11
14. “Anybody Seen My Baby?” 4:08
15. “Stealing My Heart” 3:42
16. “Tumbling Dice” 3:47
17. “Undercover of the Night” 4:13
18. “Emotional Rescue” (Single version) 3:41
19. “It’s Only Rock ‘n Roll (But I Like It)” (Single version) 4:09
20. “Losing My Touch” 5:06

Saturday 12am ET: Feature LP: Rolling Stones – Black and Blue (1976)

Black and Blue is the 13th British and 15th American studio album by the band the Rolling Stones, released in 1976.

This album was the first recorded after former guitarist Mick Taylor had quit in December 1974. As he had done the previous time the Stones were between second guitarists in 1968, Keith Richards recorded the bulk of the guitar parts himself, though the album recording sessions also served as an audition for Taylor’s replacement. Richards said of the album that it was used for “rehearsing guitar players, that’s what that one was about.” Numerous guitarists showed up to auditions; those who appeared on the album were Wayne Perkins, Harvey Mandel, and Ronnie Wood. Wood had previously contributed to the title track from the It’s Only Rock ‘n Roll album, and would become a full-time member of the Stones in 1976. The Stones rhythm section of bassist Bill Wyman and drummer Charlie Watts appear on nearly all tracks, and frequent collaborators Nicky Hopkins and Billy Preston play keyboards on most of the album, with percussionist Ollie E. Brown also appearing on about half of the tracks. The album was the second to be self-produced, credited to “The Glimmer Twins”, a pseudonym used by Jagger and Richards for their roles as producers.

Black and Blue showed the band blending its traditional rock and roll style with heavy influences from reggae and funk music. Only one single from the album, “Fool to Cry”, had any significant chart success, and criticism of the album was mixed. The album received a few positive reviews at the time of release, though many reviewers found it mostly forgettable, and tended to rank it very low compared to prior Stones releases. Retrospective reviews from more recent publications such as AllMusic have been kinder to the album, with critic Stephen Thomas Erlewine stating that the album’s “being longer on grooves and jams than songs” ended up being “what’s good about it”.

1. “Hot Stuff” 5:20
2. “Hand of Fate” 4:28
3. “Cherry Oh Baby” 3:57
4. “Memory Motel” 7:07

1. “Hey Negrita” 4:59
2. “Melody” 5:47
3. “Fool to Cry” 5:03
4. “Crazy Mama” 4:34

Tuesday 6pm ET: Sounds of The 80s

This week on the Sounds of The 80s we feature music from:  DeBarge, Def Leppard, Journey, Beach Boys, Limahl, Johnny Lee, Billy Joel, Rolling Stones, Van Halen, Culture Club, Icehouse and more . . . 

Tuesday 1am ET: Feature LP: Rolling Stones – Goats Head Soup (1973)

Goats Head Soup is the 11th British and 13th American studio album by The Rolling Stones, released August 31,1973. Like its predecessor, Exile on Main St., the band composed and recorded much of it outside of the United Kingdom due to tax issues. Goats Head Soup was recorded in Jamaica, United States, and the United Kingdom, and mixed in the United Kingdom and the Netherlands. The album contained 10 tracks, all written by Mick Jagger and Keith Richards, including lead single “Angie”, which went to No. 1 as a single in the United States and top 5 in the UK.

The album was the last to be produced by Jimmy Miller, who was a key architect of the Rolling Stones sound during their most acclaimed period which began with 1968’s Beggar’s Banquet. Bass guitarist Bill Wyman only appears on four of the ten tracks of the album, but otherwise the rest of the Rolling Stones, including Mick Jagger (lead vocals, other instruments), Keith Richards (various guitars and backing vocals), Mick Taylor (various guitars and backing vocals), and Charlie Watts (drums), played on every track. In addition to the main band, the standard cadre of Rolling Stones collaborators also played extensively on the album, including saxophonist Bobby Keys, organist Billy Preston, pianists Nicky Hopkins and Ian Stewart, as well as several local Jamaican musicians.

Goats Head Soup received positive reviews and achieved number one chart positions in the UK, US, and several other world markets. The album was remastered and released in 1994 and again in 2009 by Virgin Records and Universal Music respectively.

1. “Dancing with Mr. D” 4:53
2. “100 Years Ago” 3:59
3. “Coming Down Again” 5:54
4. “Doo Doo Doo Doo Doo (Heartbreaker)” 3:26
5. “Angie” 4:33

1. “Silver Train” 4:27
2. “Hide Your Love” 4:12
3. “Winter” 5:30
4. “Can You Hear the Music” 5:31
5. “Star Star” 4:25

Tuesday 4pm ET: Sounds of The 80s

This week on the Sounds of The 80s:  Naked Eyes, Ramones, Hooters, Electric Light Orchestra, Van Halen, Def Leppard, Who, Rolling Stones, Juice Newton, Bob Seger and The Silver Bullet Band, Bauhaus, Lou Gramm and more. . . 

Wednesday 4pm: Sounds of The 70’s

This week on the Sounds of The 70s:  Yes, Wet Willie, Tony Orlando & Dawn, John Mellencamp, Elton John, Rattles, Rolling Stones, David Bowie, Abba, Queen, Chicago, Billy Joel, Helen Reddy, Jackson Browne and more . .  

Tuesday 4pm: Sounds of The 80s

This week on Sounds of The 80s we feature music from:  Anita Baker, Hooters, Bangles, Rolling Stones, Genesis, Danny Wilson, Gordon Lightfoot, Huey Lewis and The News, Jacksons, Warren Zevon, Sheena Easton and much more. . .