May 22, 2019
Editor In Chief

Wednesday 1pm: Sounds of The 70’s

Wednesday 12pm: Top 100 Albums of The 70s – #100 – The Doors – L.A. Woman (1971)

May 22, 2019
Editor In Chief

We start our feature of the Top 100 Albums of the 70s.

#100 – The Doors – L.A. Woman (1971)

L.A. Woman is the sixth studio album by the American rock band the Doors, released on April 19, 1971, on Elektra Records. It is the last to feature the group’s lead singer, Jim Morrison, who died three months after the album’s release. It saw the band continue to integrate elements of blues back into their music, a direction begun with their previous album, Morrison Hotel. It was also recorded without record producer Paul A. Rothchild after he fell out with the group over the perceived lack of quality of their studio performances. Subsequently, the band co-produced the album with longtime sound engineer Bruce Botnick.

“Love Her Madly” was released as a single in March 1971, preceding the album’s release, and it reached the Top 20 in the Billboard Hot 100. Upon release, the album peaked at number nine on the Billboard 200 and reached number 28 on the UK Albums Charts. An additional single in support of the album, “Riders on the Storm”, also achieved chart success on Billboard and in the UK. Critics Richie Unterberger and David Quantick have both called L.A. Woman one of the Doors’ best albums, citing Morrison’s unwavering enthusiasm in his vocal performance, and the band’s stripped-down return to their blues rock roots.

1. “The Changeling” 4:21
2. “Love Her Madly” 3:20
3. “Been Down So Long” 4:41
4. “Cars Hiss by My Window” 4:12
5. “L.A. Woman” 7:49

1. “L’America” 4:37
2. “Hyacinth House” 3:11
3. “Crawling King Snake” 5:00
4. “The WASP (Texas Radio and the Big Beat)” 4:16
5. “Riders on the Storm” 7:09

Wednesday 11am: Spot Light Artist – Leo Sayer

May 22, 2019
Editor In Chief

Leo Sayer (born Gerard Hugh Sayer, May 21, 1948) is an English-Australian singer-songwriter musician and entertainer whose singing career has spanned four decades. He is now an Australian citizen and resident.

Sayer launched his career in the United Kingdom in the early 1970s, and became a top singles and album act on both sides of the Atlantic in the 1970s. His first seven hit singles in the United Kingdom all reached the Top 10 – a feat first registered by his first manager, Adam Faith. His songs have been sung by other notable artists, including Cliff Richard (“Dreaming”).

Tuesday 11pm: Top 100 Albums of The 70’s – #83 – Styx – The Grand Illusion (1977)

May 21, 2019
Editor In Chief

The Grand Illusion is the seventh studio album by Styx, it was released on July 7, 1977.

It launched the band to stardom, spawned the hit singles “Come Sail Away” and “Fooling Yourself”, and sold over three million copies in the US (Triple Platinum). Along with Pieces of Eight, it is their best-selling album to date.

The album was recorded at Paragon Recording Studios in Chicago.

The album cover art, created by Alton Kelley and Stanley Mouse, is an homage to a painting by René Magritte entitled “Le Blanc-Seing”.

1. “The Grand Illusion” 4:36
2. “Fooling Yourself (The Angry Young Man)” 5:29
3. “Superstars” 3:59
4. “Come Sail Away” 6:07
5. “Miss America” 5:02
6. “Man in the Wilderness” 5:51
7. “Castle Walls” 5:59
8. “The Grand Finale” 1:57

Tuesday 10pm: Top 100 Albums of The 70’s – #84 – Steve Miller Band – Book Of Dreams (1977)

May 21, 2019
Editor In Chief

Book of Dreams is the tenth studio album by Steve Miller Band. The album was released in May 1977 on Capitol Records in the United States, Canada and Japan and by Mercury Records in Europe. Three singles were released from the album in 1977 with the first single, “Jet Airliner”, being the most successful.

The album peaked in the top 10 of the trade charts in four countries, including Canada where the album topped RPM magazine’s 100 Albums chart. The album has gone on to become one of the group’s most successful studio albums.

1. “Threshold” 1:05
2. “Jet Airliner” 4:25
3. “Winter Time” 3:10
4. “Swingtown” 3:54
5. “True Fine Love” 3:10
6. “Wish Upon a Star” 3:39
7. “Jungle Love” 3:10
8. “Electro Lux Imbroglio” 0:55
9. “Sacrifice” 5:17
10. “The Stake” 3:56
11. “My Own Space” 3:00
12. “Babes in the Wood” 2:40

Tuesday 9pm: Top 100 Albums of The 70’s – #85 – Earth, Wind and Fire – Gratitude (1975)

May 21, 2019
Editor In Chief

Gratitude is a double album by the band Earth, Wind & Fire issued November 11, 1975 by Columbia Records. The album rose to No. 1 on both the Billboard 200 and Billboard Top Soul Albums charts. Gratitude has also been certified Triple Platinum in the US by the RIAA.

1. “Introduction by MC Perry Jones” 0:21
2. “Africano/Power” 5:56
3. “Yearnin’ Learnin'” 4:16
4. “Devotion” 5:07
5. “Sun Goddess” 7:41
6. “Reasons” 8:23
7. “Sing a Message to You” 1:19
8. “Shining Star” 4:55
9. “New World Symphony” 9:28
10. “Sunshine” 4:24
11. “Sing a Song*” 3:23
12. “Gratitude” 3:23
13. “Celebrate*” 3:06
14. “Can’t Hide Love” 4:10

May 21, 2019
Editor In Chief

Tuesday 6pm: Sounds of The 60’s

A Website.
%d bloggers like this: