Tagged Northern Soul Show

Saturday 7pm: Great Soul Performances with Bobby Jay

On this very chilly day in December, when “Great Soul Performances” comes your way this evening, once again we will be presenting more “Northern Soul Music” that will enlighten our listeners here in the United States and pay tribute to my friends In the United Kingdom and Western Europe. You’ll hear artists like: Patti & the Emblems, Dee Clark, Chubby Checker, Major Lance, Dee Dee Sharp, Harold Melvin & the Blue Notes, Booker T. & the MG’s, Paul Anka, Don Covay, J.J. Barnes and many others. We begin at 7PM ET, 6PM CT, 5PM MT, and 4PM PT. Then at 9PM ET, 8PM CT, 7PM MT & 6PM PT starts “Great Soul Performances 2: The 80s” where on the playlist are: Billy Ocean, Stevie Wonder, Grover Washington Jr. with Bill Withers, Freddie Jackson, Jimmy Castor, the Whispers, Kool & the Gang, the Pointer Sisters, Jennifer Holiday, Michael Jackson, Jermaine Jackson and several others. We’ll have musical fun when I see you later this evening on the “Home Of The Hits,” RadioMaxMusic.Com.

Saturday 7pm: Great Soul Performances with Bobby Jay

We’re going to do something different on “Great Soul Performances” this evening, we’ll salute the music that has been the rage in the north of London for decades, “Northern Soul.” G.S.P. was born in London on VIP Radio and was launched by the King of “Northern Soul” Kev Roberts; who I hope will be listening today. “Northern Soul” is a music and a dance movement based on the style of American Soul Music, particularly the heavy beat and tempo of Motown. It turned out that several American artists had hits in the UK that frankly bombed in the U.S. but resonated across the pond. So you’ll hear songs by: Little Anthony & the Imperials, Barbara Acklin, the Contours, Doris Troy, Eddie Holland, Lou Johnson, Mary Wells, the Parliaments, Eddie Holman, Barbara McNair, Frankie Beverly & the Butlers, Roy C. and others. It will kick off at 7PM ET, 6PM CT, 5PM MT & 4PM PT.

After we finish with “Northern Soul” it will be time for “Great Soul Performances 2: The 80s” where on the playlist will be: Michael Jackson & Sir Paul McCartney, the O’Jays, my former co-worker at WWRL, Imhotep Gary Byrd & the G.B.E.; produced by Stevie Wonder, Carl Carlton, Billy Vera & the Beaters, Johnny Mathis, Jazzy Jeff & the Fresh Prince, Fred Parris & the Satins, David Ruffin & Eddie Kendricks, Earth, Wind & Fire, Hall & Oates and more. It starts at 9PM ET, 8PM CT, 7PM MT and 6PM PT. I think it’s gonna an interesting and fun filled evening of music and entertainment on “Great Soul Performances” and “Great Soul Performances 2: The 80s” later on RadioMaxMusic.Com.

Sunday 3pm: Northern Soul Show with Peter Marsham

Another installment of the Northern Soul Show.  New program on RadioMax