Tag: New Order

Thursday 12/15/22 8pm ET: Feature LP: New Order – Substance 1987 (1987)

Substance (also known as Substance 1987) is a compilation album by English alternative dance band New Order. It was released August 17, 1987 by Factory Records. The album compiles all of the band’s singles at that point in their 12-inch versions, along with their respective B-side tracks. The then-newly released non-album single “True Faith” is also featured, along with its B-side “1963” and new versions of “Temptation” and “Confusion”.

Substance was released on vinyl, double CD, double cassette and Digital Audio Tape. It sold over one million copies and became New Order’s most popular and critically acclaimed album.

It is the companion to a similar singles compilation by New Order’s predecessor band Joy Division, also entitled Substance.

  1. “Ceremony” 4:23
  2. “Everything’s Gone Green” 5:30
  3. “Temptation (New Version)” 6:59
  4. “Blue Monday” 7:29
  5. “Confusion (New Version)” 4:43
  6. “Thieves Like Us” 6:36
  7. “The Perfect Kiss” 8:46
  8. “Sub-culture” 4:48
  9. “Shellshock” 6:28
  10. “State of the Nation” 6:32
  11. “Bizarre Love Triangle” 6:44
  12. “True Faith” 5:55

Friday 11pm: ClubMax

This week on ClubMax we feature tunes from Janet Jackson, Secret Ties, Black Blood, KC & The Sunshine Band, Katy Perry, New Order, Duran Duran, Karen Young, Shalamar, Mark Ronson, First Choice and more . . .