Tagged Michael McDonald

Great Soul Performances with Bobby Jay 7pm ET

Bobby Jay
Bobby Jay

Join Bobby Jay for another “Great Soul Performances.” On the program this evening we’ll be entertained by Al Green, Ruby & the Romantics, the Esquires, Timothy Wilson, Boyz II Men, Gregory Abbott, “Little” Stevie Wonder, Love Unlimited, Michael McDonald in concert and the second installment of “The Motown Story.” The show begins at 7PM ET, 6PM CT, 5PM MT & 4PM PT later this evening on RadioMaxMusic.com, the Best Music On The Internet!

Artist Countdown: Paul Carrack Top 15 Hits 9pm ET

pcarrackPaul Melvyn Carrack (born 22 April 1951) is an English singer, songwriter and musician who has recorded as both a solo artist and as a member of several popular bands. The BBC described him as “The Man with the Golden Voice”, adding: “Carrack is a journeyman of British rock, soul and pop whose career has unfolded slowly and steadily until he has become something of a national treasure.” William Pinfold of Record Collector, acknowledging Carrack’s cult status, remarked: “If vocal talent equalled financial success, Paul Carrack would be a bigger name than legends such as Phil Collins or Elton John.”

Carrack arose to prominence in the mid-1970s as the frontman and principal songwriter of Ace, and gained further recognition for his work as a solo artist and for his tenures as a member of Roxy Music, Squeeze and Roger Waters‘ backing group, The Bleeding Heart Band, intermittently handling lead vocals on Squeeze and Waters recordings. From the mid-1980s to the late 1990s, he enjoyed considerable success as the co-frontman (with Paul Young) and a songwriter for Mike + The Mechanics; following Young’s death in 2000, Carrack served as the band’s sole lead vocalist until his departure in 2004. He maintains an active solo career to the present day.

Carrack sang some of his affiliated bands’ best-known hits, including Ace’s “How Long?”; Squeeze’s “Tempted”; and Mike + The Mechanics’ “Silent Running”, “The Living Years” and “Over My Shoulder”. He also performed lead vocals on tracks from the Roger Waters albums Radio K.A.O.S. and The Wall – Live in Berlin, and achieved a major solo hit with “Don’t Shed a Tear“. Carrack’s songs have been recorded by artists such as the Eagles, Diana Ross, Tom Jones, Michael McDonald and Jools Holland, and he has served as a session and/or touring musician for the likes of Elton John, Eric Clapton, Ringo Starr, B.B. King, the Pretenders and The Smiths. -Wikipedia

1 Don’t Shed a Tear
2 I Need You
3 When You Walk in the Room
4 One Good Reason
5 Eyes of Blue
6 I Live by the Groove
7 Don’t Dream It’s Over (with Paul Young)
8 The Way I’m Feeling Tonight
9 For Once in Our Lives
10 Dedicated
11 Groovin’
12 Where Did I Go Wrong?
13 Satisfy My Soul
14 Ain’t No Love in the Heart of the City
15 When My Little Girl Is Smiling