Tag: Marillion

Thursday 11/26/2020 3am ET: Feature LP: Marillion – Misplaced Childhood (1985)

Misplaced Childhood is the third studio album by the British neo-progressive rock band Marillion, released in 1985. It is a concept album loosely based on the childhood of Marillion’s lead singer, Fish, who was inspired by a brief incident that occurred while he was under the influence of acid.

The album was recorded during the spring of 1985 at Hansa Tonstudio in Berlin and produced by Chris Kimsey, who had previously worked with the Rolling Stones. Misplaced Childhood is the group’s most commercially successful album to date, peaking immediately at number one in the UK charts and spending a total of 41 weeks on the chart. It ultimately gained the Platinum status. It features Marillion’s two most successful singles, the guitar-led rock ballad “Kayleigh”, which reached number two in the UK, and piano-led “Lavender”, which peaked at number five.

Misplaced Childhood was listed as the sixth best album of 1985 by Kerrang! and chosen as the fourth greatest concept album of all time by Classic Rock in 2003.

1. “Pseudo Silk Kimono” 2:15
2. “Kayleigh” 4:04
3. “Lavender” 2:28
4. “Bitter Suite”
i) “Brief Encounter”
ii) “Lost Weekend”
iii) “Blue Angel”
iv) “Misplaced Rendezvous”
v) “Windswept Thumb” 7:53
5. “Heart of Lothian”
i) “Wide Boy”
ii). “Curtain Call” 4:08
6. “Waterhole (Expresso Bongo)” 2:13
7. “Lords of the Backstage” 1:53
8. “Blind Curve”
i) “Vocal Under a Bloodlight”
ii) “Passing Strangers”
iii) “Mylo”
iv) “Perimeter Walk”
v) “Threshold” 9:30
9. “Childhoods End?” 4:33
10. “White Feather” 2:24

Fish – vocals; cover concept
Steve Rothery – guitars; additional bass guitar;[25] photography (1998 remastered edition)
Mark Kelly – keyboards
Pete Trewavas – bass guitar
Ian Mosley – drums, percussion

Saturday 10/10/2020 1am ET: Feature LP: Marillion – Afraid of Sunlight

Afraid of Sunlight is Marillion’s eighth studio album, released in 1995. It was their last for EMI (who would, however, continue to release back-catalogue material on compilations and re-issues, as well as distribute some later recordings).

Afraid of Sunlight was the first Marillion studio album to fail to reach the Top 10 in the UK Albums Chart, peaking at number 16 and falling out of the Top 75 after two weeks. Despite this, Afraid of Sunlight became one of the band’s most critically acclaimed albums and was included in Q magazine’s “Recordings of the Year” for 1995. It was retrospectively described by Jeri Montesano of Allmusic as “the peak of Marillion’s growing, impressive body of work” and by colleague Jason Ankeny as “the most consistent Marillion release to date”.

1. “Gazpacho” 7:28
2. “Cannibal Surf Babe” 5:45
3. “Beautiful” 5:12
4. “Afraid of Sunrise” 5:02
5. “Out of This World” 7:54
6. “Afraid of Sunlight” 6:50
7. “Beyond You” 6:11
8. “King” 7:03

Saturday 12pm / Sunday 6am: Brit Rock with Dominic Forbes

This week on Brit Rock – Michael Schenker Group, Scorpions, Focus, Concrete Kingdoms, Meme Detroit, Survival Code, Green Day, Guns ‘N’ Roses, Foo Fighters, Styx, Procol Harem, Marillion, Dio, Motorhead, Don Henley, Foreigner, Chicago, Queen, Deep Purple, Genesis, Night Ranger, Allman Bros Band, Fleetwood Mac, REM, Joe Cocker, Rolling Stones, Who, Ozzy Osbourne, Mountain, Rembrandts, C.C.S., Rod Stewart, Aerosmith.  Join Dominic Forbes 12pm or the encore Sunday 6am on RadioMaxMusic.