Tag: Killers

Thursday 9/3/2020 10pm ET: Feature LP 2020: The Killers – Imploding The Mirage (2020)

Imploding the Mirage is the sixth studio album by American rock band the Killers. It was released on August 21, 2020, by Island Records in the United States and internationally by EMI. It is the band’s first album without lead guitarist Dave Keuning, who has not been touring or recording with the Killers since 2017. Guitar parts are covered by Killers bassist Mark Stoermer, producer Jonathan Rado, and a variety of guest musicians including Lindsey Buckingham (Fleetwood Mac) and Adam Granduciel (The War on Drugs).

The album was preceded by the lead single “Caution”, released on March 12, 2020, the second single “Fire in Bone”, released on April 24, 2020, the third single “My Own Soul’s Warning” released on June 17, 2020, and the fourth single “Dying Breed”, released on August 14, 2020.

The band is planning a world tour in support of the album, although ticket sales have since been delayed due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic.

1. “My Own Soul’s Warning” 4:34
2. “Blowback” 3:59
3. “Dying Breed” 4:06
4. “Caution” 4:29
5. “Lightning Fields” (featuring k.d. lang) 4:18
6. “Fire in Bone” 3:53
7. “Running Towards a Place” 4:13
8. “My God” (featuring Weyes Blood) 3:38
9. “When the Dreams Run Dry” 4:42
10. “Imploding the Mirage” 4:08

Brandon Flowers – vocals, synthesizer, glockenspiel, guitar, organ
Mark Stoermer – bass, guitar
Ronnie Vannucci Jr. – drums, percussion, guitar, timpani, marimba

Jonathan Rado – piano (1, 2, 3, 7, 10) bass (1, 2, 3, 5, 7, 9, 10), fretless bass (8), keyboard, guitar (1, 5, 7, 10) synthesizer (4, 9, 10) acoustic guitar (3, 4, 6, 8, 9), slide guitar (4), organ (1), harmonica (2, 3, 6, 10), cello (1), horn (5), bagpipes (5), marimba (10), vibraphone (10)
k.d lang – vocals (5)
Weyes Blood – vocals (2, 8, 10), additional vocals (5)
Lindsey Buckingham – guitar (4)
Lucius (band) – background vocals (4, 8)
Adam Granduciel – keyboards (2)
Roger Manning – keyboards (1)
Blake Mills – guitar, bass (4)
Stuart Price – synthesizer, bass guitar (6)
Bobby Lee Parker – guitar (1)
Benjji Lysaght – guitar (7)
Ariel Rechtshaid – bass, guitar (7)
Tommy King – synthesizer, flute (7)
Rob Moose – strings (1)
Brian D’Addario – acoustic guitar (1)
Drew Erickson – piano (5), strings (8)

Jonathan Rado – producer (all tracks)
Shawn Everett – producer, mixing, recording engineer (all tracks), programmer (2)
Ariel Rechtshaid – producer (7), mixer (1, 3, 7)
Stuart Price – producer (6)
Ivan Wayman – engineer (1, 2, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10)
Robert Root – engineer (1, 2, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10)
Dave Shiffman – mixer (3, 7)
Flood – mixer (3)
Alan Moulder – mixer (10)
Emily Lazar – mastering engineer (all tracks)
Chris Allgood – mastering engineer (all tracks)

Saturday 7/25/2020 12am ET: Feature LP: Killers – Hot Fuss (2004)

Hot Fuss is the debut studio album by the American rock band The Killers. It was released on June 7, 2004, in the United Kingdom and on June 15, 2004, in the United States.[2] The album is mostly influenced by new wave music and post-punk. Hot Fuss spawned four commercially and critically successful singles: “Mr. Brightside”, “Somebody Told Me”, “All These Things That I’ve Done” and “Smile Like You Mean It”.

The album reached number seven on the Billboard 200 and number one on the UK Albums Chart. As of December 2012, Hot Fuss had sold more than seven million copies worldwide,[5] including more than three million in the United States and more than two million in the United Kingdom, where it has been certified seven-times platinum. It has also been certified platinum or multi-platinum in Australia, Canada, Ireland, and New Zealand. The album and its first three singles went on to garner five Grammy Award nominations.

1. “Jenny Was a Friend of Mine” 4:04
2. “Mr. Brightside” 3:43
3. “Smile Like You Mean It” 3:54
4. “Somebody Told Me” 3:17
5. “All These Things That I’ve Done” 5:01
6. “Andy, You’re a Star” 3:14
7. “On Top” 4:18
8. “Change Your Mind” 3:11
9. “Believe Me Natalie” 5:05
10. “Midnight Show” 4:02
11. “Everything Will Be Alright” 5:45

Tuesday 8pm ET: Feature Artist – The Killers

The Killers are an American rock band formed in Las Vegas in 2001 by Brandon Flowers (lead vocals, keyboards, bass) and Dave Keuning (lead guitar, backing vocals). The official lineup of the band (as of 2020) consists of Flowers, Keuning, Mark Stoermer (bass, rhythm guitar, backing vocals) and Ronnie Vannucci Jr. (drums, percussion) – the latter two have both joined in 2002. The band’s name is derived from a logo on the bass drum of a fictitious band portrayed in the music video for the New Order song “Crystal”.

The band has released five consecutive chart-topping studio albums: Hot Fuss (2004), Sam’s Town (2006), Day & Age (2008), Battle Born (2012) and Wonderful Wonderful (2017). They have also released a B-sides and rarities compilation, Sawdust (2007); a live album, Live from the Royal Albert Hall (2009); a greatest-hits album, Direct Hits (2013); and a Christmas compilation, Don’t Waste Your Wishes (2016).

The Killers are considered one of the biggest rock bands of the 21st century, and the most successful act to ever emerge from Nevada, selling more than 28 million albums. They have performed in over 50 countries and on six continents, headlining venues such as Madison Square Garden, Wembley Stadium and Glastonbury Festival (2007 and 2019).

Saturday 12pm ET: Brit Rock with Dominic Forbes

On Brit Rock this week music from Gary Moore, AC/DC, Jeff Lynne, Extreme, Billy Idol, Faith No More, Fish, Aerosmith,Quireboys, Black Crowes, Stranglers, Boston, Deep Purple, Killers, The Eagles, Chris Cornell, The Fray, Kings Of Leon, U2, The Scorpions, Genesis, Dire Straits, Whitesnake, Sammy Hagar, Frijid Pink, Queen, Cinderella, Foreigner, Russ Ballard, Peter Gabriel, Gun, The Hooters, ZZ Top, Richard Marx, Ozzy Osbourne, Genesis, Rainbow.  Join Dominic Forbes 12pm ET on RadioMaxMusic.  Encore at 12am Sunday morning.