Tag: John Mayer

Wednesday 3/30/22 11pm ET: Feature LP: John Mayer – Rooms For Squares (2001)

Room for Squares is the debut studio album by American singer-songwriter John Mayer, originally released on June 5, 2001, and re-released on September 18, 2001, by both Aware and Columbia Records. Upon its release, it peaked at number 8 on the US Billboard 200 and received generally positive reviews from critics. It earned Mayer a Grammy Award for Best Male Pop Vocal Performance for the single “Your Body Is a Wonderland”.

Room for Squares is Mayer’s best-selling album to date, having sold over 4,484,000 copies in the United States as of July 2014.

  1. “No Such Thing” 3:51
  2. “Why Georgia” 4:28
  3. “My Stupid Mouth” 3:45
  4. Your Body Is a Wonderland” 4:09
  5. “Neon” 4:22
  6. “City Love” 4:00
  7. “83” 4:50
  8. “3×5” 4:50
  9. “Love Song for No One” 3:21
  10. “Back to You” 4:01
  11. “Great Indoors” 3:36
  12. “Not Myself” 3:40
  13. “St. Patrick’s Day” 5:21

John Mayer – vocals; guitars; Korg Triton synthesizer on tracks 1, 4, 7, 10 and 11; omnichord on track 1, 5, 10 and 12; toy piano and vibraphone on track 4; vibraslap on track 7; piano on track 8; percussion on track 11
David LaBruyere – bass guitar on all tracks
Nir Z – drums on tracks 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 9, 10, 11, 12 and 14, loops on tracks 2 and 5, percussion on track 6
Brandon Bush – Hammond organ on tracks 1, 2, 3, 7, 9 and 14; Wurlitzer electric piano on tracks 1, 4 and 9; Rhodes piano on tracks 5 and 14; Mellotron on tracks 12 and 14
John Alagia – percussion on track 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 8 and 9; guitar on tracks 5 and 9; Hammond organ on track 4 and 6; Wurlitzer electric piano on track 6; jingle bells on track 14; production; mixing on tracks 2, 5, 6, 11, 12 and 14; engineering
Clay Cook – backing vocals on tracks 2, 5 and 9
Doug Derryberry – backing vocals on tracks 2, 5 and 9
Chris Fischer – congas on track 4
Carole Rabinowitz – cello on track 6
Jon Catchings – cello on track 6
Kristin Wilkinson – viola on track 6
David Angell – violin on track 6
David Davidson – violin on track 6
Jerry Marotta – drums on track 8

Saturday 12/25/21 4:15pm ET: Feature LP: John Mayer – Sob Rock (2021)

Sob Rock is the eighth studio album by American singer-songwriter John Mayer, released on July 16, 2021, by Columbia Records. The single “New Light”, released in May 2018, is included on the album, as are Mayer’s two singles from 2019, “I Guess I Just Feel Like” and “Carry Me Away”. The lead single “Last Train Home” was released on June 4, 2021, and features guest vocals from Maren Morris. Mayer will tour the United States with Dead & Company from August through October 2021 and embark on a solo tour in support of the album in 2022.

  1. “Last Train Home” 3:07
  2. “Shouldn’t Matter but It Does” 3:56
  3. “New Light” 3:37
  4. “Why You No Love Me” 4:15
  5. “Wild Blue” 4:12
  6. “Shot in the Dark” 4:09
  7. “I Guess I Just Feel Like” 4:46
  8. “Til the Right One Comes” 3:41
  9. “Carry Me Away” 2:39
  10. “All I Want Is to Be with You” 4:04

John Mayer – vocals, guitars, keyboards (tracks 1, 4, 8-10), piano (tracks 2, 6), bass (tracks 4, 6, 8)
Aaron Sterling – drums, percussion (tracks 7, 10)
Greg Phillinganes – keyboards (tracks 1, 4, 9), synthesizers (tracks 2, 6)
Sean Hurley – bass (tracks 1, 2, 5, 7, 10)
Lenny Castro – percussion (tracks 1, 4-6)
Maren Morris – vocals (tracks 1, 4, 6)
Pino Palladino – bass (tracks 3, 9)
Jeff Babko – keyboards (tracks 5, 10)
Larry Goldings – keyboards (track 4)
Greg Leisz – pedal steel guitar (track 4)
Jamie Muhoberac – keyboards (track 9)
Cautious Clay – vocals (track 9)

Friday 10/15/21 12pm ET: Feature Artist: John Mayer

John Clayton Mayer (born October 16, 1977) is an American singer, songwriter, guitarist, and record producer. Born and raised in Fairfield County, Connecticut, Mayer attended Berklee College of Music in Boston, but left and moved to Atlanta in 1997 with Clay Cook. Together, they formed a short-lived two-man band called Lo-Fi Masters. After their split, Mayer continued to play local clubs, refining his skills and gaining a following. After his appearance at a 2001 South by Southwest Festival, he was signed to Aware Records, and eventually to Columbia Records, which released his first extended play Inside Wants Out. His following two studio albums—Room for Squares (2001) and Heavier Things (2003)—performed well commercially, achieving multi-platinum status. In 2003, he won the Grammy Award for Best Male Pop Vocal Performance for his single “Your Body Is a Wonderland”.

By 2005, Mayer had moved away from the acoustic music that characterized his early records, and begun performing the blues and rock music that had originally influenced him as a musician. He collaborated with blues artists such as B. B. King, Buddy Guy, and Eric Clapton. Forming the John Mayer Trio, he released a live album, Try!, in 2005 and his third studio album Continuum in 2006. Both albums received positive reviews, and Continuum earned Mayer a 2007 Grammy Award for Best Pop Vocal Album. He also won Best Male Pop Vocal Performance for “Waiting on the World to Change”. That album was followed by Battle Studies in 2009, a return to pop, with a Battle Studies World Tour.

After having several controversial incidents with the media, Mayer withdrew from public life in 2010 and began work on his fifth studio album, Born and Raised, which drew inspiration from the 1970s pop music of Laurel Canyon. However, the discovery of a granuloma on his vocal cords delayed the release of the album until May 2012, and forced him to cancel the planned tour. The album received a generally favorable reception, though was less commercially successful than his previous work. Mayer began performing as a singer again in January 2013, and that year released his sixth studio album, Paradise Valley, which incorporates country music influences. By 2014, he had sold a total of over 20 million albums worldwide. His seventh album, The Search for Everything, was released in 2017. Mayer released his latest album Sob Rock in July 2021.

In 2015, three former members of the Grateful Dead joined with Mayer and two other musicians to form the band Dead & Company. It is the latest of several reunions of the band’s surviving members since Jerry Garcia’s death in 1995. The band remains active and its tours have been well received.

Sunday with Ron Kovacs 10am ET

SundayEvery Sunday we feature a more diverse range of music featuring indie rock, pop rock, alternative rock, alternative country, jazz, folk, world music and blues.  This week music from Ryan Adams, Johnny Lang, John Mayer, Blues Traveler, Mumford & Sons and more . . . It’s Live at 10am ET with Ron Kovacs on RadioMaxMusic.