Tag: Iggy Pop

Wednesday 1/11/23 5pm ET: Feature LP: Iggy Pop – Every Loser (2023)

Every Loser is the nineteenth studio album by American rock singer Iggy Pop, released on January 6, 2023, on Gold Tooth and Atlantic. Produced by Andrew Watt, the album features a core backing band of Duff McKagan (bass), Chad Smith (drums) and Josh Klinghoffer (guitars, keyboards).

The album features guest contributions from Jane’s Addiction members Dave Navarro, Eric Avery and Chris Chaney, alongside appearances from Pearl Jam guitarist Stone Gossard and drummers Taylor Hawkins and Travis Barker.

  1. “Frenzy” 3:00
  2. “Strung Out Johnny” 4:13
  3. “New Atlantis” 4:08
  4. “Modern Day Ripoff” 3:29
  5. “Morning Show” 3:47
  6. “The News for Andy” (interlude) 0:55
  7. “Neo Punk” 2:15
  8. “All the Way Down” 4:29
  9. “Comments” 3:53
  10. “My Animus” (interlude) 1:02
  11. “The Regency” 5:42

Iggy Pop – lead vocals (all tracks), background vocals (tracks 2, 3)
Andrew Watt – guitar (all tracks), background vocals (1–3, 5, 9, 11), bass guitar (2, 5, 6, 8), keyboards (2, 3, 8, 9, 11), piano (4, 5, 8, 9, 11), sequenced drums (6), percussion (11)
Duff McKagan – bass guitar (1, 3, 4)
Chad Smith – drums (1–6, 8), percussion (2–5, 8)
Josh Klinghoffer – guitar (2, 9, 10), keyboards (2, 8, 10), piano (2, 3, 6, 7), organ (3, 5), bass guitar (7), synthesizer (9)
Travis Barker – drums (7)
Stone Gossard – guitar (8)
Eric Avery – bass guitar (9)
Taylor Hawkins – drums, percussion, piano (9)
Chris Chaney – bass guitar (11)
Dave Navarro – guitar (11)

Wednesday 1/5/22 8pm ET: RadioMaxMusic Special: The Music of 1981 (by title) A to Z – Part 2

This RadioMax special features our Library of music from 1981 A2Z.

We continue with letter A and move into B. We feature music from: Oak Ridge Boys, Iggy Pop, Jim Steinman, Kinks, Sugarhill Gang, Mitch Ryder, Eric Clapton, George Harrison, Joe Jackson, Devo, Kenny Rogers, AC/DC, Smokey Robinson, Spider, April Wine and many more. . .

8pm to 12am ET

Monday 8/30/21 1am ET: Feature LP: Iggy Pop – Lust For Life (1977)

Lust for Life is the second solo album by American musician Iggy Pop, released on August 29, 1977 by RCA Records. It was his second collaboration with English musician and friend David Bowie after The Idiot, released earlier in March the same year. Shortly after Bowie released his own album Low in January, Pop went on a tour to support The Idiot with Bowie as his keyboardist. At the tour’s conclusion, Pop and Bowie regrouped in Berlin to record the former’s next solo album.

Lust for Life was recorded at Hansa Studio by the Wall in West Berlin from May to June 1977, with production being co-handled by Bowie, Pop, and engineer Colin Thurston. The touring band of Pop, Bowie, guitarist Ricky Gardiner, and brothers Tony Fox and Hunt Sales on bass and drums, respectively, comprised the primary lineup for the album. After The Idiot was mostly composed by Bowie, Pop was adamant about having more control over Lust for Life, often composing his own arrangements, including for “The Passenger”. This resulted in a hard rock sound more akin to his older style with the proto-punk band the Stooges. Pop would use Bowie’s arrangements for some songs, including the well-known title track.

Upon release, Lust for Life received little promotion from RCA but nevertheless peaked at number 28 on the UK Albums Chart and would remain his highest-charting album there until 2016’s Post Pop Depression. It also peaked at number 120 on the US Billboard Top LPs & Tape chart. Critically, Lust for Life was well-received, with many praising Pop’s energetic performance throughout the album and his greater role compared to its predecessor; it would later be regarded as one of his best works. It also marked Pop and Bowie’s final collaboration until the mid-1980s.

  1. “Lust for Life” 5:13
  2. “Sixteen” Pop 2:26
  3. “Some Weird Sin” 3:42
  4. “The Passenger” 4:44
  5. “Tonight” 3:39
  6. “Success” 4:25
  7. “Turn Blue” 6:56
  8. “Neighborhood Threat” 3:25
  9. “Fall in Love with Me” 6:30

Iggy Pop – vocals
David Bowie – keyboards, piano, organ, backing vocals
Carlos Alomar – rhythm guitar, backing vocals, lead guitar (“Lust for Life”, “Turn Blue”)
Ricky Gardiner – lead guitar, backing vocals, drums (“Fall in Love with Me”)
Warren Peace – keyboards and backing vocals (“Turn Blue”)
Tony Sales – bass, backing vocals, guitar (“Fall in Love with Me”)
Hunt Sales – drums, backing vocals, bass (“Fall in Love with Me”)

Tuesday 10pm: Feature LP: Iggy Pop – Free (2019)

Free is the eighteenth studio album by American rock singer Iggy Pop, released by Caroline International and Loma Vista Recordings on September 6, 2019. It features contributions from Noveller and Leron Thomas, and the title track was released along with the album announcement. A music video for the album’s second single, “James Bond”, was released on August 14, 2019.

1. “Free” 1:48
2. “Loves Missing” 4:19
3. “Sonali” 3:30
4. “James Bond” 4:31
5. “Dirty Sanchez” 4:21
6. “Glow in the Dark” 3:57
7. “Page” 4:08
8. “We Are the People” 3:13
9. “Do Not Go Gentle into That Good Night” 1:48
10. “The Dawn” 2:08