Tag: Heavy Horses

Wednesday 10pm: Feature LP: Jethro Tull – Heavy Horses New Shoes Edition (2018)

Heavy Horses is the eleventh studio album by British progressive rock band Jethro Tull, released on 10 April 1978. It is considered the second album in a trilogy of folk-rock albums by Jethro Tull, although folk music’s influence is evident on a great number of Jethro Tull releases. The album abandons much of the folk lyrical content typical of the previous studio album, Songs from the Wood (1977), in exchange for a more realist perspective on the changing world – the album is dedicated to the “indigenous working ponies and horses of Great Britain”. Likewise, the band sound is harder and tighter. The third album in the folk-rock trilogy is Stormwatch (1979). An expanded, five-disk version was released on 2 March 2018.

On 2 March 2018 Jethro Tull released a five-disc ‘bookset’ version of Heavy Horses with a 96-page booklet that includes a track-by-track annotation of the album and its associated recordings by Ian Anderson. It is similar to the band’s other 40th Anniversary reissues, with the first disc containing another Steven Wilson stereo remix followed by ‘associated recordings’ including seven previously unreleased tracks. The second and third discs contain 22 previously unreleased live tracks, recorded at the Festhalle in Berne Switzerland during the European leg of their 1978 Heavy Horses Tour, from 28 May 1978, remixed to stereo by Jakko Jakszyk. The set also includes DVDs.

1. “…And The Mouse Police Never Sleeps”
2. “Acres Wild”
3. “No Lullaby”
4. “Moths”
5. “Journeyman”
6. “Rover”
7. “One Brown Mouse”
8. “Heavy Horses”
9. “Weathercock”
10. “Living In These Hard Times (version 2, previously unreleased)”
11. “Everything In Our Lives (previously unreleased)”
12. “Jack A Lynn (early version, previously unreleased)”
13. “Quatrain (studio version, previously unreleased)”
14. “Horse-Hoeing Husbandry (previously unreleased)”
15. “Beltane”
16. “Botanic Man (previously unreleased)”
17. “Living In These Hard Times (version 1)”
18. “Botanic Man Theme (previously unreleased)”

We are feature CD1 of the package.