Tag: Gorillaz

Sunday 4/24/22 6pm ET: Feature LP: Gorillaz – Demon Days (2005)

Demon Days is the second studio album by British virtual band Gorillaz. It was first released on May 11, 2005 in Japan and on May 23, 2005 in the United Kingdom by Parlophone and in the United States by Virgin Records. Produced by the band, Danger Mouse, Jason Cox, and James Dring, the album features contributions from De La Soul, Neneh Cherry, Martina Topley-Bird, Roots Manuva, MF Doom, Ike Turner, Bootie Brown of the Pharcyde, Shaun Ryder, and Dennis Hopper. As with the band’s eponymous 2001 debut, the release of Demon Days and its respective live performances were both accompanied by various multimedia, including interactive features on the Gorillaz website, a total of four animated music videos, and animatics for select videos. Almost all visuals associated with the album were designed by Gorillaz co-creator Jamie Hewlett, under his design company Zombie Flesh Eaters.

Upon its release, Demon Days was a chart success reaching the top 10 in 22 countries. The album reached number one on the UK Albums Chart and number 6 on the US Billboard 200, and was later certified six times platinum in the UK and double platinum in the US. Outperforming their debut, the album has sold eight million copies worldwide. The album spawned the singles “Feel Good Inc.”, “Dare”, “Dirty Harry”, “Kids with Guns”, and “El Mañana”. Spin ranked Demon Days as the fourth-best album of 2005, while Mojo ranked it at number eighteen on their year-end list and hailed the album as a “genre-busting, contemporary pop milestone”. The NME placed the album at number 98 on their list of 100 greatest albums of the decade, and Uncut placed it at number 75 on their list of top 150 albums of the decade. Complex included it on their list of 100 Best Albums of the Complex Decade, placing it at number 43, and Spin later included it in their list of “The 300 Best Albums of 1985–2014”.

  1. “Intro” 1:03
  2. “Last Living Souls” 3:10
  3. “Kids with Guns” 3:46
  4. “O Green World” 4:32
  5. “Dirty Harry” (featuring Bootie Brown) 3:44
  6. “Feel Good Inc.” (featuring De La Soul) 3:41
  7. “El Mañana” 3:50
  8. “Every Planet We Reach Is Dead” 4:53
  9. “November Has Come” (featuring MF Doom) 2:41
  10. “All Alone” (featuring Roots Manuva) 3:30
  11. “White Light” 2:08
  12. “Dare” (featuring Shaun Ryder) 4:04
  13. “Fire Coming out of the Monkey’s Head” 3:16
  14. “Don’t Get Lost in Heaven” 2:00
  15. “Demon Days” 4:29

Damon Albarn – lead vocals, keyboards, acoustic guitar, synthesizers, melodica
Danger Mouse – percussion, drum programming, sampled loops
Jason Cox – drums, drum programming
James Dring – drums, drum programming
Cass Browne – drums
Simon Tong – additional guitar (tracks 2, 4, 6–7, 10)
Morgan Nicholls – bass guitar
Sally Jackson – violin (tracks 2, 5, 7–8, 10, 15)
Stella Page – viola (tracks 2, 5, 7–8, 10, 15)
Amanda Drummond – viola (tracks 2, 5, 7–8, 10, 15)
Isabelle Dunn – cello (tracks 2, 5, 7–8, 10, 15)
Al Mobbs – double bass (tracks 2, 5, 7–8, 10, 15)
Emma Smith – double bass (tracks 2, 5, 7–8, 10, 15)
Prabjote Osahn – violin (tracks 2, 5, 8, 10, 15)
Neneh Cherry – additional vocals (track 3)
Bootie Brown – vocals (track 5)
The San Fernandez Youth Chorus – choir (track 5)
De La Soul – vocals (track 6)
Antonia Pagulatos – violin (track 7)
Ike Turner – piano (track 8)
MF Doom – vocals (track 9)
Roots Manuva – vocals (track 10)
Martina Topley-Bird – vocals (track 10)
Shaun Ryder – vocals (track 12)
Rosie Wilson – vocals (track 12)
Dennis Hopper – vocals (track 13)
London Community Gospel Choir – choir (tracks 14–15)

Thursday 10/29/2020 11:30pm ET: Feature LP 2020: Gorillaz – Song Machine, Season One: Strange Timez (2020)

Song Machine, Season One: Strange Timez is the seventh studio album by British virtual band Gorillaz, released on October 23, 2020. The album is released as part of Gorillaz’ Song Machine project, a web series consisting of a collection of singles and music videos, dubbed “episodes” each featuring different guest artists. The album incorporated a wide range of genres, including punk rock, bossa nova, synth-pop, electronic, and downtempo. The album marked the return of the character Murdoc Niccals in promotional material, after his absence from The Now Now in 2018. The record has been met with general acclaim by music critics, and has been considered by many to be a worthy, albeit dissimilar album in the band’s discography.

1. “Strange Timez” (featuring Robert Smith) 3:47
2. “The Valley of the Pagans” (featuring Beck) 3:01
3. “The Lost Chord” (featuring Leee John) 4:03
4. “Pac-Man” (featuring Schoolboy Q) 3:12
5. “Chalk Tablet Towers” (featuring St. Vincent) 3:02
6. “The Pink Phantom” (featuring Elton John and 6lack) 4:13
7. “Aries” (featuring Peter Hook and Georgia) 4:13
8. “Friday 13th” (featuring Octavian) 3:35
9. “Dead Butterflies” (featuring Kano and Roxani Arias) 4:33
10. “Désolé (Extended version)” (featuring Fatoumata Diawara) 5:33
11. “Momentary Bliss” (featuring Slowthai and Slaves) 3:41
12. “Opium” (featuring EarthGang) 6:50
13. “Simplicity” (featuring Joan As Police Woman) 2:44
14. “Severed Head” (featuring GoldLink and Unknown Mortal Orchestra) 3:34
15. “With Love to an Ex” (featuring Moonchild Sanelly) 3:00
16. “MLS” (featuring JPEGMafia and Chai) 3:14
17. “How Far?” (featuring Tony Allen and Skepta) 2:46

Damon Albarn – vocals
Jamie Hewlett – artwork, character design, video direction
Remi Kabaka Jr – drum programming, percussion, drums

Sunday 12pm: Sunday Live with Ron Kovacs

Today On Sunday Live we feature lots of new music, some of our features are;  Paul Shaffer & The World’s Dangerous Band, Jason Eady, Fastball, Chuck Berry, Blondie, Chris Cornell, Pink Floyd, Trombone Shorty, Pitbull, CJ Ramone, Michelle Branch, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Gorillaz, Afghan Whigs, Methyl Ethel, Stone Senate and more . . .  Check it out live today at 12pm on RadioMaxMusic.