Tag: Flowers

Monday 10/18/21 1am ET: Feature LP: Flowers – Icehouse (1980)

Icehouse is the debut album released by Australian rock/synthpop band Flowers, later known as Icehouse, on the independent label Regular Records in October 1980. The title and the artist are sometimes incorrectly swapped, because the band changed their name from Flowers to Icehouse after this album was released. Containing the Top 20 Australian hits “Can’t Help Myself”, “We Can Get Together” and “Walls”; the album made heavy use of synthesizers, which would continue to be used throughout the band’s career. Founder Iva Davies wrote all the tracks including four co-written with keyboardist Michael Hoste, however Hoste was replaced during recording sessions by Anthony Smith. In October 2010, Icehouse (1980) by Flowers was listed in the book, 100 Best Australian Albums.

  1. “Icehouse” 4:22
  2. “We Can Get Together” 3:46
  3. “Fatman” 3:53
  4. “Sister” 3:22
  5. Walls” 4:22
  6. “Can’t Help Myself” 4:41
  7. “Skin” 2:41
  8. “Sons” 4:32
  9. “Boulevarde” 3:14
  10. “Nothing to Do” 3:22
  11. “Not My Kind” 3:35
  12. “Send Somebody” 3:42
  13. “All the Way” 3:50
  14. “Paradise Lost 5:53

Iva Davies – vocals; guitar; oboe; keyboards
Michael Hoste – keyboards; piano on “Sons”
John Lloyd – drums; backing vocals
Anthony Smith – keyboards; backing vocals
Keith Welsh – bass guitar; backing vocals
Ian Moss – guitar on “Skin”
Geoff Oakes – saxophone on “Sons”
James SK Wān – bamboo flute