Tag: Fleetwood Mac

Friday 12am ET: Feature LP: Fleetwood Mac – 50 Years – Don’t Stop (2013)

50 Years – Don’t Stop is a box set by British-American rock band Fleetwood Mac, released on November 16, 2018, marking 50 years since the band’s formation. Consisting of three CDs, the set spans the history of the band from 1967 to 2013. It was also released as a 5-LP set and a condensed single CD version. Unlike its spiritual predecessor, 25 Years – The Chain (1992), this album does not feature any previously unreleased material. It does, however, mark the first time certain tracks have been remastered or included in a physical format, as is the case with “Sad Angel”. Other songs appear in their single edit form, like “Sands of Time” and “Heroes are Hard to Find”. Up until the release of 50 Years, these mixes had been out of print for decades.

1. “Shake Your Moneymaker” 2:57
2. “Black Magic Woman” 2:55
3. “Need Your Love So Bad” 3:56
4. “Albatross” 3:14
5. “Man of the World” 2:51
6. “Oh Well 3:32
7. “Rattlesnake Shake” 3:33
8. “The Green Manalishi (With the Two Prong Crown)” 4:39
9. “Tell Me All the Things You Do” 4:12
10. “Station Man” 5:12
11. “Sands of Time” 3:03
12. “Spare Me a Little of Your Love” 3:47
13. “Sentimental Lady” 3:02
14. “Did You Ever Love Me” 3:43
15. “Emerald Eyes” 3:34
16. “Hypnotized” 4:49
17. “Heroes Are Hard to Find” 2:46

1. “Monday Morning” 2:47
2. “Over My Head” 3:09
3. “Rhiannon (Will You Ever Win)” 3:46
4. “Say You Love Me” 4:02
5. “Landslide” 3:20
6. “Go Your Own Way” 3:39
7. “Dreams” 4:17
8. “Second Hand News” 2:54
9. “Don’t Stop” 3:13
10. “The Chain” 4:29
11. “You Make Loving Fun” 3:36
12. “Tusk” 3:38
13. “Sara” 4:36
14. “Think About Me” 2:44
15. “Fireflies” 3:33
16. “Never Going Back Again (Live)” 4:07

1. “Hold Me” 3:44
2. “Gypsy” 4:23
3. “Love in Store” 3:14
4. “Oh Diane” 2:36
5. “Big Love” 3:42
6. “Seven Wonders” 3:39
7. “Little Lies” 3:39
8. “Everywhere” 3:43
9. “As Long as You Follow” 4:20
10. “Save Me” 4:06
11. “Love Shines” 4:48
12. “Paper Doll” 3:58
13. “I Do” 3:49
14. “Silver Springs (Live)” 4:50
15. “Peacekeeper” 4:10
16. “Say You Will” 3:49
17. “Sad Angel” 4:03

Tuesday 6pm ET: Sounds of The 80s

This week on Sounds of the 80s we feature music from:  Fleetwood Mac, Bruce Springsteen, George Thorogood and The Destroyers, Van Halen, T’Pau, Living Colour, Red Rider, Peter Gabriel and more . . .

Friday 12pm ET: Feature Artist – Fleetwood Mac

Fleetwood Mac are a British-American rock band, formed in London in 1967. They have sold more than 120 million records worldwide, making them one of the world’s best-selling bands. In 1998, select members of Fleetwood Mac were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and received the Brit Award for Outstanding Contribution to Music.

Fleetwood Mac was founded by guitarist Peter Green, drummer Mick Fleetwood and guitarist Jeremy Spencer. Bassist John McVie completed the lineup for their self-titled debut album. Danny Kirwan joined as a third guitarist in 1968. Keyboardist Christine Perfect, who contributed as a session musician from the second album, married McVie and joined in 1970. At this time it was primarily a British blues band, scoring a UK number one with “Albatross”, and had lesser hits with the singles “Oh Well” and “Black Magic Woman”. All three guitarists left in succession during the early 1970s, to be replaced by guitarists Bob Welch and Bob Weston and vocalist Dave Walker. By 1974, all three had either departed or been dismissed, leaving the band without a male lead vocalist or guitarist.

In late 1974, while Fleetwood was scouting studios in Los Angeles, he was introduced to folk-rock duo Lindsey Buckingham and Stevie Nicks. Fleetwood Mac soon asked Buckingham to be their new lead guitarist, and Buckingham agreed on condition that Nicks would also join the band. The addition of Buckingham and Nicks gave the band a more pop rock sound, and their 1975 self-titled album, Fleetwood Mac, reached No. 1 in the United States. Rumours (1977), Fleetwood Mac’s second album after the arrival of Buckingham and Nicks, produced four U.S. Top 10 singles and remained at number one on the American albums chart for 31 weeks. It also reached the top spot in various countries around the world and won a Grammy Award for Album of the Year in 1978. Rumours has sold over 40 million copies worldwide, making it the eighth-highest-selling album in history. The band went through personal turmoil while recording the album, as both the romantic partnerships in the band (one being John and Christine McVie, and the other being Buckingham and Nicks) separated while continuing to make music together.

The band’s personnel remained stable through three more studio albums, but by the late 1980s began to disintegrate. After Buckingham and Nicks each left the band, a 1993 one-off performance for the first inauguration of Bill Clinton featured the lineup of Fleetwood, John McVie, Christine McVie, Nicks, and Buckingham back together for the first time in six years. A full reunion occurred four years later, and the group released their fourth U.S. No. 1 album, The Dance (1997), a live compilation of their work. Christine McVie left the band in 1998, but continued to work with the band in a session capacity. Meanwhile, the group remained together as a four-piece, releasing their most recent studio album, Say You Will, in 2003. Christine McVie rejoined the band full-time in 2014. In 2018, Buckingham was fired from the band and was replaced by Mike Campbell, formerly of Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers, and Neil Finn of Split Enz and Crowded House.

Wednesday 4pm: Sounds of The 70s

This week on Sounds of The 70s we feature music from:  Fleetwood Mac, Elton John, Ringo Starr, Donna Summer, Spinners, Chicago, Barry Manilow, Marshall Tucker Band and more . . .

Wednesday 4pm: Sounds of The 70s

This week on Sounds of The 70s we feature music from:  Fleetwood Mac, Boston, Foreigner, Steely Dan, Clint Holmes, Redbone, Elton John, Selector, Robert Gordon, Freda Payne, Toto, Diana Ross and more . . .

Tuesday 2pm: Sounds of The 80’s

Today on Sounds of The 80’s we feature:  Christopher Cross, Pointer Sisters, Missing Persons, Fleetwood Mac, Elton John, Van Halen, Barry Manilow, Warren Zevon, Gregory Abbott, Blue Oyster Cult, Four Tops and more . . . 

Wednesday 2pm: Sounds of The 70’s

This week we feature music from; Paul Simon, Staple Singers, Melissa Manchester, Eddie Kendricks, Isley Brothers, Fleetwood Mac, Spinners, America, Joe Cocker, Eric Clapton, First Class and many more . . .