Tag: Earth Wind and Fire

Saturday 7pm / Sunday 5pm ET: Great Soul Performances with Bobby Jay

As we continue with our holiday week, I sincerely hope you’re enjoying Hanukkah, Christmas and Kwanzaa. This evening on “Great Soul Performances” and “Great Soul Performances 2: The 80s” we get ready for the new year and the new decade, with our annual “New Year’s Eve” shows.

We’ve got party tunes, New Year’s Eve tunes and some left over Christmas songs. On “G.S.P.” we’ll hear from: Earth, Wind & Fire, Sonny Til & the Orioles, Ray Charles & Betty Carter, the Shells, Ella Fitzgerald, Count Basie, Luther Vandross & Darlene Love, the Manhattans. Toni Braxton, Take 6, Brian McKnight, John Legend and my former co-worker; New York’s Morning Mayor from WMCA, WABC, and WCBS-FM, Harry Harrison, and several others.

The party begins at 7PM ET, 6PM CT, 5PM MT and 4PM PT. Then beginning at 9PM ET, 8PM CT, 7PM MT & 6PM PT, it’s “G.S.P. 2,” where the party music will be coming from: Prince & the Revolution, the Temptations, Rick James, Tina Turner, the Salsoul Orchestra, Jimmy Beaumont & the Skyliners, Margo Sylvia & the Tune Weavers, the New Kids On The Block, Marvin Sease, Harry Connick, Jr. and more. I’ll be looking for you later this evening for “Great Soul Performances” and “Great Soul Performances 2: The 80s,” and don’t forget, encore performances happens tomorrow Sunday at 5PM eastern Time. It all happens on the best music station on the internet, RadioMaxMusic.Com.

Tuesday 9pm: Top 100 Albums of The 70’s – #85 – Earth, Wind and Fire – Gratitude (1975)

Gratitude is a double album by the band Earth, Wind & Fire issued November 11, 1975 by Columbia Records. The album rose to No. 1 on both the Billboard 200 and Billboard Top Soul Albums charts. Gratitude has also been certified Triple Platinum in the US by the RIAA.

1. “Introduction by MC Perry Jones” 0:21
2. “Africano/Power” 5:56
3. “Yearnin’ Learnin'” 4:16
4. “Devotion” 5:07
5. “Sun Goddess” 7:41
6. “Reasons” 8:23
7. “Sing a Message to You” 1:19
8. “Shining Star” 4:55
9. “New World Symphony” 9:28
10. “Sunshine” 4:24
11. “Sing a Song*” 3:23
12. “Gratitude” 3:23
13. “Celebrate*” 3:06
14. “Can’t Hide Love” 4:10

Friday 11pm: Top 100 Albums of The 70s – #86 – Earth, Wind and Fire – That’s They Way Of The World (1975)

That’s the Way of the World is the sixth studio album by Earth, Wind & Fire, released on March 15, 1975 by Columbia Records. It was also the soundtrack for a 1975 motion picture of the same name. The album rose to No. 1 on both the Billboard 200 and Top Soul Albums charts. That’s the Way of the World has also been certified Triple Platinum in the U.S by the RIAA.

1. “Shining Star” 2:50
2. “That’s the Way of the World” 5:45
3. “Happy Feelin'” 3:35
4. “All About Love” 6:35
5. “Yearnin’ Learnin'” 3:39
6. “Reasons” 4:59
7. “Africano” 5:09
8. “See the Light” 6:18

Great Soul Performances 2: The 80s with Bobby Jay 7pm ET

GSP2This week Ron Kovacs fills in for Bobby Jay on Great Soul Performances.  We’ll feature music from Simply Red, Pointer Sisters, Four Tops, Ben E. King, Kool and The Gang, Eartha Kitt, Diana Ross, Earth Wind and Fire, Tyrone Davis, Bobby Brown, Sister Sledge and more!  It all starts 7pm ET Live on RadioMaxMusic.