Tag: Dream Theater

Thursday 10/29/2020 1am ET: Feature LP: Dream Theater – A Change of Season (1995)

A Change of Seasons is an EP by progressive metal band Dream Theater, first released on September 19, 1995, through East West Records. It comprises the 23-minute title track and a collection of live cover songs performed at a fan club concert on January 31, 1995 at Ronnie Scott’s Jazz Club in London, England.

The title track was recorded at BearTracks Studios in New York and was originally slated to be released on the 1992 album Images and Words, but was instead re-recorded and released as an EP. Although the song includes audio samples from the 1989 film Dead Poets Society (as well as quotes from the 1648 Robert Herrick poem, To the Virgins, to Make Much of Time), the lyrics, written by drummer Mike Portnoy, were not inspired by the film. Instead, “it’s about the cycle of life. Basically, I took a lot of personal incidents, like losing my mother and a couple of things that happened in my life, and I wrote them into the lyrics.” A Change of Seasons was also the first Dream Theater release featuring Derek Sherinian on keyboards.

Excerpts from the title track were used by NBC in a segment on downhill skiing during the 2002 Winter Olympics.

Although the record is labeled as an EP, its running time of 57:30 makes it significantly longer than a standard EP, and even many LPs, including Dream Theater’s first two albums. According to Portnoy, “It was important for us and the label for it not to be perceived as the latest studio record. That’s why we tagged it an EP.”

1. “A Change of Seasons” 23:09
“I. The Crimson Sunrise” (instrumental)
“II. Innocence”
“III. Carpe Diem”
“IV. The Darkest of Winters” (instrumental)
“V. Another World”
“VI. The Inevitable Summer” (instrumental)
“VII. The Crimson Sunset”

2. “Funeral for a Friend/Love Lies Bleeding” 10:46

3. “Perfect Strangers” 5:33

4. “The Rover” / “Achilles Last Stand” / “The Song Remains the Same” 7:30

5. “The Big Medley” 10:32
“In the Flesh?”
“Carry On Wayward Son”
“Bohemian Rhapsody”
“Lovin’, Touchin’, Squeezin'”
“Cruise Control”
“Turn It On Again”

Wednesday 12:30am ET: Feature LP: Dream Theater – Images and Words (1992)

Images and Words is the second studio album by American progressive metal band Dream Theater, released on July 7, 1992 through ATCO Records. It is the first Dream Theater release to feature James LaBrie on vocals. Since its release, the album has maintained its position as the band’s most commercially successful studio album, and the song “Pull Me Under” has the distinction of being the only Top 10 hit (radio or otherwise) the band has had to date. This particular song has also had more recent success as it has appeared in the 2008 video game Guitar Hero World Tour.

On April 9, 2013, Images and Words won Loudwire’s fan-voted March Metal Madness award for best metal album of all time.

The song “Under a Glass Moon” was awarded the 98th best guitar solo by About.com expert.

In October 2011, Images and Words was ranked number 7 on Guitar World magazine’s top ten list of guitar albums of 1992.

In 2015, the album was ranked first on the website Prog Report’s list of the top 50 progressive rock albums of 1990–2015. Four other Dream Theater albums made the list: Metropolis Pt. 2: Scenes from a Memory (third), Six Degrees of Inner Turbulence (14th), Awake (18th), and Train of Thought (38th).

In 2017, it was ranked 95th at Rolling Stone’s “100 Greatest Metal Albums of All Time”.

1. “Pull Me Under” 8:14
2. “Another Day” 4:23
3. “Take the Time” 8:21
4. “Surrounded” 5:30
5. “Metropolis—Part I: ‘The Miracle and the Sleeper’ ” 9:32
6. “Under a Glass Moon” 7:03
7. “Wait for Sleep” 2:31
8. “Learning to Live” 11:30