Tag: Dio

Thursday 1/21/2021 9pm ET: Feature LP: Dio – Holy Diver (1983)

Holy Diver is the debut studio album by American heavy metal band Dio, released in 1983. Vocalist Ronnie James Dio had just finished his first tenure in Black Sabbath, whose drummer, Vinny Appice, he took with him to put together his own band. The roster was completed by his former bandmate from Rainbow, Jimmy Bain, on bass and by the young guitarist Vivian Campbell, coming from the NWOBHM band Sweet Savage. The album was acclaimed by the music press and is the band’s most successful effort.

1. “Stand Up and Shout” 3:18
2. “Holy Diver” 5:513. “Gypsy” 3:39
4. “Caught in the Middle” 4:14
5. “Don’t Talk to Strangers” 4:53
6. “Straight Through the Heart” 4:31
7. “Invisible” 5:24
8. “Rainbow in the Dark” 4:15
9. “Shame on the Night” 5:19

Ronnie James Dio – lead vocals, synthesizers, production
Vivian Campbell – guitar
Jimmy Bain – bass, keyboards
Vinny Appice – drums

Saturday 12pm / Sunday 6am: Brit Rock with Dominic Forbes

This week on Brit Rock – Michael Schenker Group, Scorpions, Focus, Concrete Kingdoms, Meme Detroit, Survival Code, Green Day, Guns ‘N’ Roses, Foo Fighters, Styx, Procol Harem, Marillion, Dio, Motorhead, Don Henley, Foreigner, Chicago, Queen, Deep Purple, Genesis, Night Ranger, Allman Bros Band, Fleetwood Mac, REM, Joe Cocker, Rolling Stones, Who, Ozzy Osbourne, Mountain, Rembrandts, C.C.S., Rod Stewart, Aerosmith.  Join Dominic Forbes 12pm or the encore Sunday 6am on RadioMaxMusic.