Tag: CSN

Friday 1/22/23 8pm ET: Feature LP: CSN (1977)

CSN is the fifth album by Crosby, Stills & Nash, released on Atlantic Records on June 17, 1977. It is the group’s second studio release in the trio configuration. It peaked at No. 2 on the Billboard Top Pop Albums chart; two singles taken from the album, Nash’s “Just a Song Before I Go” (No. 7) and Stills’ “Fair Game” (No. 43) charted on the Billboard Hot 100. It is currently the trio configuration’s best selling record, outselling 1969’s Crosby, Stills & Nash by 200,000 copies. It has been certified quadruple platinum by RIAA.

  1. “Shadow Captain” 4:32
  2. “See the Changes” 2:56
  3. “Carried Away” 2:29
  4. “Fair Game” 3:30
  5. “Anything at All” 3:01
  6. “Cathedral” 5:15
  7. “Dark Star” 4:43
  8. “Just a Song Before I Go” 2:12
  9. “Run from Tears” 4:09
  10. “Cold Rain” 2:32
  11. “In My Dreams” 5:10
  12. “I Give You Give Blind” 3:21

David Crosby – vocals; rhythm guitar on “Fair Game” and “Dark Star”; acoustic guitar on “Just A Song Before I Go” and “In My Dreams”; string arrangements on “Cathedral” and “Cold Rain”
Stephen Stills – vocals; guitars on all tracks except “Carried Away,” “Cathedral” and “Cold Rain” electric piano on “Anything at All”; piano, string arrangements on “I Give You Give Blind”; timbales on “Fair Game”
Graham Nash – vocals; piano on “Carried Away,” “Cathedral,” “Just A Song Before I Go,” and “Cold Rain”; harmonica on “Carried Away”; string arrangements on “Cathedral” and “Cold Rain”
Joe Vitale – drums on “Carried Away,” “Fair Game,” “Cathedral,” “Dark Star,” “Run From Tears” and “I Give You Give Blind”; organ on “Shadow Captain,” “Fair Game,” “Anything at All,” “Dark Star”; electric piano on “Carried Away,” “Just A Song Before I Go”; percussion on “Cathedral,” “I Give You Give Blind”; flute on “Shadow Captain”; timpani on “Cathedral”; vibraphone on “In My Dreams”
Craig Doerge – piano on “Shadow Captain” and “Anything at All”; electric piano on “Shadow Captain” and “Dark Star”
Mike Finnigan – organ on “Run From Tears”
George “Chocolate” Perry – bass on “Shadow Captain,” “Fair Game,” “Anything at All”, “Cathedral,” “Dark Star,” and “I Give You Give Blind”
Jimmy Haslip – bass on “Carried Away”
Tim Drummond – bass on “Just A Song Before I Go”
Gerald Johnson – bass on “Run From Tears”
Russ Kunkel – drums on “Shadow Captain” “Anything at All,” “Just A Song Before I Go,” and “In My Dreams”; congas on “Shadow Captain” “Dark Star”; percussion on “Just A Song Before I Go”
Ray Barretto – congas on “Fair Game”
Mike Lewis – string arrangements on “Cathedral,” “Cold Rain,” and “I Give You Give Blind”
Joel Bernstein – string arrangements on “Cathedral”

Tuesday 4pm ET: Feature Artist – Timothy B. Schmit

Timothy Bruce Schmit (born October 30, 1947) is an American musician, singer, and songwriter. He has performed as the bassist and vocalist for Poco and the Eagles, having replaced bassist and vocalist Randy Meisner in both cases. Schmit has also worked for decades as a session musician and solo artist. In 1998, he was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame as a member of the Eagles.

In 1968, Schmit auditioned for Poco but was turned down in favor of founding member Randy Meisner. When Meisner quit the band in 1969, Schmit replaced him on bass and vocals. He appeared on nine of Poco’s studio albums and two live albums between 1969 and 1977, composing numerous songs. He wrote and was the lead singer on the song “Keep on Tryin’,” Poco’s biggest hit single to that point, peaking at #50 on the Billboard Hot 100 in 1975. Apart from Poco, Schmit also contributed vocals to Firefall’s 1977 hit, “Just Remember I Love You.”

Schmit also sang backing vocals on the Steely Dan albums Pretzel Logic, The Royal Scam and Aja. Schmit also sang backing vocals on “Never Let Her Slip Away”, a top 5 UK hit for Andrew Gold in 1978, along with Brock Walsh, J.D. Souther and an uncredited Freddie Mercury.

In 1977, Schmit joined the Eagles during the Hotel California tour, once again replacing Randy Meisner on bass/vocals after Meisner quit. Although the Eagles are thought of as a quintessential California band, Schmit is the only member of the group to actually be a native of California.

On the 1979 album, The Long Run, Schmit co-wrote and sang lead vocals on the song “I Can’t Tell You Why”. The band later broke up in 1980 and reunited 14 years later in 1994, with Schmit singing the lead vocals on “Love Will Keep Us Alive”, on the reunion album Hell Freezes Over.

In 2007, the Eagles released a new album, Long Road Out of Eden. Schmit continued to be part of the Eagles lineup along with Don Henley, Glenn Frey and Joe Walsh until Frey’s death in 2016.

After the Eagles broke up in 1980, Schmit embarked on a solo career, singing vocals and playing bass for hire during studio sessions. His voice can be heard on many hits, including Bob Seger’s “Fire Lake” and Boz Scaggs’ “Look What You’ve Done to Me” (each with Frey and Henley), Don Felder’s “Heavy Metal (Takin’ a Ride)” (with Henley), and Crosby, Stills and Nash’s “Southern Cross”, where he sang harmony. He was also a background musician on two of Don Henley’s hit songs, “Dirty Laundry” and “You Don’t Know Me at All”.

Schmit teamed with his predecessor in both Poco and the Eagles, Randy Meisner, along with their mutual Eagles bandmate Joe Walsh, to provide background vocals to the Richard Marx 1987 hit “Don’t Mean Nothing”. Schmit also performed on the Toto 1983 hit singles “I Won’t Hold You Back” and “Africa”, and the Jars of Clay song “Everything in Between”. He also played on the 1983 Glenn Shorrock solo album. In 1991 Schmit covered the standard “I Only Have Eyes for You” for the soundtrack of the film Don’t Tell Mom the Babysitter’s Dead. In 1988 he added background vocals to Sheena Easton’s album The Lover in Me and in 1989 Schmit added background vocals on the Stacey Q single, “Heartbeat”, which was featured on her critically acclaimed Nights Like This album.

Artist Countdown: David Crosby Top 40 Hits 6pm ET @thedavidcrosby @CSNofficial

DavidCrosbyDavid Van Cortlandt Crosby (born August 14, 1941) is an American guitarist, singer, and songwriter. In addition to his solo career, he was a founding member of three bands: The Byrds; Crosby, Stills & Nash (who are sometimes joined by Neil Young); and CPR. Crosby has been inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame twice: once for his work in The Byrds and once for his work with CSN.

This countdown is a compilation of David Crosby music with The Byrds, Crosby, Still, Nash & Young, Solo work and Crosby Stills & Nash.

1 Wasted on the Way  (CSN)
2 Just a Song Before I Go  (CSN)
3 Southern Cross  (CSN)
4 Got It Made  (CSNY)
5 Mr. Tambourine Man  (Byrds)
6 Teach Your Children
7 Ohio  (CSNY)
8 Turn! Turn! Turn!  (Byrds)
9 Eight Miles High   (Byrds)
10 Our House  (CSNY)
11 All I Really Want to Do   (Byrds)
12 Marrakesh Express  (CSNY)
13 Suite: Judy Blue Eyes  (CSNY)
14 American Dream  (CSNY)
15 Live It Up  (CSN)
16 Woodstock  (CSNY)
17 Too Much Love to Hide  (CSN)
18 That Girl  (CSNY)
19 So You Want to Be a Rock ‘n’ Roll Star   (Byrds)
20 My Back Pages   (Byrds)
21 No Tears Left  (CSNY)
22 Mr. Spaceman   (Byrds)
23 Night Time for the Generals  (CSNY)
24 Fair Game (CSN)
25 5D (Fifth Dimension)   (Byrds)
26 War Games (CSN)
27 Set You Free This Time  (Byrds)
28 Have You Seen Her Face  (Byrds)
29 Lady Friend   (Byrds)
30 Goin’ Back  (Byrds)
31 This Old House  (CSNY)
32 Please Let Me Love You  (Byrds)
33 It Won’t Be Wrong  (Byrds)
34 Out of The Darkness (Crosby & Nash)
35 Music Is Love
36 Spotlight  (Crosby & Nash)
37 Hero  (with Phil Collins)
38 In My Room  (with Carly Simon and Jimmy Webb
39 Southbound Train (Crosby & Nash)
40 Return of The Grievous Angel (with Lucinda Williams)