Tag: City Boy

Wednesday 3/2/22 9pm ET: Feature LP: City Boy – Book Early (1978)

City Boy were an English rock band formed in the mid-1970s. They were originally called Sons Of Doloyne, then Back In The Band, and finally City Boy. They featured strong melodies, clever lyrics, complex vocal arrangements, and heavy guitars. The band consisted of Lol Mason (lead vocals), Steve Broughton (lead vocals, guitar), Max Thomas (keyboards, vocals), Chris Dunn (bass, acoustic guitar), Roger Kent (drums), Mike Slamer (lead guitar), and later, Roy Ward (drums, vocals). Their most popular songs were “”, “What A Night”, “The Day the Earth Caught Fire”, and “Speechless”.

Book Early yielded the international hit single, “”, which reached the Top 10 in the UK Singles Chart. The single peaked at No. 27 on the U.S. Billboard Hot 100, and was a major hit in many European territories. In support of this album, they toured extensively in Europe and the United States, where they played 66 gigs, 56 of which were with Hall & Oates. Released in 1978.

1 5-7-0-5 03:12
2 Summer In the School Yard 03:54
3 Goodbye Laurelie 03:12
4 Raise Your Glass (To Foolish Me) 02:58
5 Cigarettes 05:31

6 What a Night 03:02
7 Do What You Do, Do Well 03:27
8 The World Loves a Dancer 03:26
9 Beth 02:45
10 Moving In Circles 04:08
11 Dangerous Ground 04:58

Sounds of The 70s with Dan Varroney 7am ET

Music_Of_The_Year_1978This week on the Sounds of The 70s it’s “The Hits from this Week in 1978 & 1979” with Dan Varroney today at 7:00 am ET at http://www.radiomaxmusic.com. We’ll feature, Andy Gibb, A Taste of Honey, City Boy, Bob Welch, Cars, Robert Palmer Jackson Browne, Bill Labounty, Jefferson Starship, ELO, Cheap Trick, Eddie Rabbit, Heatwave, Eddie Money, John Stewart, Donna Summer, and so much more.