Tag: Carpenters

Monday 10/17/22 11am ET: Feature Artist: The Carpenters

The Carpenters were an American vocal and instrumental duo consisting of siblings Karen (1950–1983) and Richard Carpenter (born 1946). They produced a distinct soft musical style, combining Karen’s contralto vocals with Richard’s harmonizing, arranging and composition skills. During their 14-year career, the Carpenters recorded 10 albums along with numerous singles and several television specials.

The siblings were born in New Haven, Connecticut, and moved to Downey, California, in 1963. Richard took piano lessons as a child, progressing to California State University, Long Beach, while Karen learned the drums. They first performed together as a duo in 1965 and formed the jazz-oriented Richard Carpenter Trio followed by the middle-of-the-road group Spectrum. Signing as Carpenters to A&M Records in 1969, they achieved major success the following year with the hit singles “(They Long to Be) Close to You” and “We’ve Only Just Begun”. The duo’s brand of melodic pop produced a record-breaking run of hit recordings on the American Top 40 and Adult Contemporary charts, and they became leading sellers in the soft rock, easy listening and adult contemporary music genres. They had three number-one singles and five number-two singles on the Billboard Hot 100 and 15 number-one hits on the Adult Contemporary chart, in addition to 12 top-10 singles.

The duo toured continually during the 1970s, which put them under increased strain; Richard took a year off in 1979 after he had become addicted to Quaalude, while Karen suffered from anorexia nervosa. Their joint career ended in 1983 when Karen died from heart failure brought on by complications of anorexia. Extensive news coverage surrounding these circumstances increased public awareness of eating disorders. Their music continues to attract critical acclaim and commercial success. They have sold more than 90 million records worldwide, making them one of the best-selling music artists of all time.

Wednesday 6pm ET: Sounds of The 70s

This week we feature music from George Harrison, Paul McCartney, Doobie Brothers, Steely Dan, Poco, Temptations, Carpenters, Billy Preston, Charlie Daniels Band and more . . .

Friday 10pm: Top 100 Albums of the 70’s – #94 – Carpenters – A Song For You (1972)

The Top 100 Albums of The 70’s

#94 – Carpenters – A Song For You (1972)

A Song for You is the fourth studio album by American music duo the Carpenters, released on June 22, 1972. According to Richard Carpenter, “A Song for You was intended to be a concept album (of sorts) with the title tune opening and closing the set and the book-ended selections comprising the ‘song’.”

Six songs were released as A-side singles internationally: “Hurting Each Other”, “It’s Going to Take Some Time”, “Goodbye to Love”, “Top of the World”, “I Won’t Last a Day Without You”, and “Bless the Beasts and Children”.

1. “A Song for You” 4:42
2. “Top of the World” 2:56
3. “Hurting Each Other” 2:46
4. “It’s Going to Take Some Time” 2:55
5. “Goodbye to Love” 3:50
6. “Intermission” 0:22
7. “Bless the Beasts and Children” 3:07
8. “Flat Baroque” 1:45
9. “Piano Picker” 1:59
10. “I Won’t Last a Day Without You” 3:47
11. “Crystal Lullaby” 3:53
12. “Road Ode” 3:50
13. “A Song for You” (reprise) 0:53

Tuesday 9pm: Feature LP: Carpenters with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra (2018)

Carpenters with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra is a compilation album by American duo the Carpenters. It was released on December 7, 2018 by A&M Records and Universal Music Enterprises. The album features Carpenters’ “original vocal and instrumental tracks” accompanied by new orchestral arrangements by the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra. Richard Carpenter served as the album’s producer, arranger and conductor.

The Target store exclusive CD and the Japanese release has Please Mr. Postman as a bonus track.

1. “Overture” 1:29
2. “Yesterday Once More” 3:56
3. “Hurting Each Other” 3:58
4. “I Need to Be in Love” 4:30
5. “For All We Know” 2:56
6. “Touch Me When We’re Dancing” 3:15
7. “I Believe You” 3:53
8. “I Just Fall in Love Again” 5:01
9. “Merry Christmas, Darling” 3:01
10. “Baby It’s You” 3:11
11. “(They Long to Be) Close to You” 3:40
12. “Superstar” 3:51
13. “Rainy Days and Mondays” 3:36
14. “This Masquerade” 4:50
15. “Ticket to Ride” 4:10
16. “Goodbye to Love” 3:58
17. “Top of the World” 2:59
18. “We’ve Only Just Begun” 3:57

Vinyl Resting Place with Willie B 12pm ET

vrp0515Join Willie B for another edition of the Vinyl Resting Place.  

Well with the Vinyl Resting Place back on the air (or wires) – I thought we’d give a random sampling of some of the music and silliness my loyal listeners (both of them) have come to expect. this week’s line-up..

Jefferson Airplane, Billy Sawn, Carpenters, Gunhill Road, Lois Fletcher, Bruce Springsteen, Albert Hammond, Lori Lieberman, Roger Whittaker, Neil Diamond, John Denver, Normam Greenbaum,  Electric Light Orchestra & Olivia Newton John, Elvis Presley, Horst Jankowski, Lady Gaga, Karmin, Smiley Lewis, Lloyd Price,  Billy Joel and LOTS more.  ..  12pm ET on RadioMaxMusic