Tag: Brooks & Dunn

Thursday, April 27, 2023 11:10pm ET: Feature LP: Brooks & Dunn – Cowboy Town (2007)

Cowboy Town is the tenth studio album by country music duo Brooks & Dunn, released October 2, 2007 by Arista Nashville. Produced by the duo and Tony Brown, the album has accounted for four Top 20 country singles on the Billboard country singles charts: “Proud of the House We Built,” “God Must Be Busy,” “Put a Girl in It,” and “Cowgirls Don’t Cry.” The album debuted at number 13 on the Billboard albums chart, selling 68,900 copies in the first week of release. To date it has sold over 400,000 copies.

As with all of Brooks & Dunn’s albums since the late 1990s, this album features songs co-written by Terry McBride, former lead singer of McBride & The Ride. Texas country singer Jerry Jeff Walker is featured on “The Ballad of Jerry Jeff Walker”.

One of the McBride co-writes, “Proud of the House We Built,” was issued in late 2007 as the lead-off single, and reached a peak of number 4 on the Billboard Hot Country Songs charts. “God Must Be Busy” and “Put a Girl in It” were released as the album’s second and third singles, respectively. “God Must Be Busy” peaked at number 11, while “Put a Girl in It” reached number 3. “Cowgirls Don’t Cry,” another McBride co-write, was released as the fourth and final single. After the duo performed the song with Reba McEntire (who was also the song’s inspiration) at the Country Music Association awards in November 2008, a re-recording with McEntire’s vocals was shipped to radio, and from November 2008 onward, the song was credited to Brooks & Dunn and Reba McEntire. It was the highest-peaking single from Cowboy Town, reaching a peak of number 2.

  1. “Cowboy Town” 3:19
  2. “Proud of the House We Built” 3:47
  3. “Johnny Cash Junkie (Buck Owens Freak)” 2:58
  4. “Cowgirls Don’t Cry” (featuring Reba McEntire) 3:41
  5. “Put a Girl in It” 3:29
  6. “The Ballad of Jerry Jeff Walker” (featuring Jerry Jeff Walker) 3:41
  7. “Tequila” 2:48
  8. “Drop in the Bucket” 4:26
  9. “Drunk on Love” 3:53
  10. “Chance of a Lifetime” 3:51
  11. “American Dreamer” 3:41
  12. “God Must Be Busy” 3:53

Kix Brooks — lead vocals, background vocals
Ronnie Dunn — lead vocals, background vocals

Robert Bailey — background vocals
Eddie Bayers — drums
Larry Beaird — acoustic guitar
Mike Brignardello — bass guitar
Tom Bukovac — acoustic guitar, electric guitar
Mark Casstevens — acoustic guitar
J.T. Corenflos — electric guitar
Chad Cromwell — drums
Eric Darken — percussion
Dan Dugmore — steel guitar, lap steel guitar
Haley Dunn — background vocals
Kim Fleming — background vocals
Paul Franklin — steel guitar, lap steel guitar
Kenny Greenberg — acoustic guitar, electric guitar
Rob Hajacos — fiddle
Owen Hale — drums
Vicki Hampton — background vocals
Tony Harrell — keyboards, Hammond organ, piano
Aubrey Haynie — fiddle
Wes Hightower — background vocals
John Barlow Jarvis — piano
Jeff Kersey — background vocals
Terry McBride — bass guitar, background vocals
Reba McEntire — vocals on “Cowgirls Don’t Cry”
Chris McHugh — drums
Jerry McPherson — electric guitar
Brent Mason — electric guitar
James Mitchell — electric guitar
Greg Morrow — drums, percussion
Gary Morse — steel guitar, lap steel guitar
Wendy Moten — background vocals
Jimmy Nichols — Fender Rhodes, keyboards, Hammond organ, piano
Russ Pahl — steel guitar, lap steel guitar
Kim Parent — background vocals
Larry Paxton — bass guitar
Pat Peterson — background vocals
Alison Prestwood — bass guitar
Michael Rhodes — bass guitar
John Wesley Ryles — background vocals
Rex Schnelle — electric guitar, percussion
Paul Scholton — drums
Hank Singer — fiddle
Jimmie Lee Sloas — bass guitar
Harry Stinson — background vocals
Bryan Sutton — acoustic guitar, mandolin
Crystal Taliefero — background vocals
Russell Terrell — background vocals
Lou Toomey — electric guitar
Ilya Toshinsky — banjo, acoustic guitar
Jerry Jeff Walker — vocals on “The Ballad of Jerry Jeff Walker”
John Willis — banjo
Glenn Worf — bass guitar
Reese Wynans — Hammond organ, piano

Saturday 6/5/21 12pm ET: Mac Country Saturday: Country Artist Countdown: Brooks & Dunn Top 30 Hits (Twitter: @BrooksAndDunn)

Brooks & Dunn is an American country music duo composed of Kix Brooks and Ronnie Dunn. Signed to Arista Nashville, Brooks & Dunn has released twelve studio albums and seven compilation albums for the label. The duo has also charted 55 singles on the Billboard country charts, including twenty Number One hits. Two of their Number Ones have been declared by Billboard as the country single of the year: a cover of B.W. Stevenson’s “My Maria” in 1996.

We have tried to rank the Top 30 and it was one of the more difficult to do.

1Cowgirls Don’t Cry (with Reba McEntire)2008
2Put a Girl in It2008
3Proud of the House We Built2007
4Husbands and Wives1998
5Play Something Country2005
6That’s What It’s All About2004
7Boot Scootin’ Boogie1992
8I Can’t Get Over You1999
9It’s Getting Better All the Time2004
10That’s What She Gets for Loving Me2004
11You’ll Always Be Loved by Me2000
12Building Bridges (with Sheryl Crow and Vince Gill)2006
13My Maria1996
15God Must Be Busy2007
16Missing You1999
17Rock My World (Little Country Girl)1993
18Brand New Man1991
19Neon Moon1992
20She Used to Be Mine1993
21She’s Not the Cheatin’ Kind1994
22Little Miss Honky Tonk1995
23You’re Gonna Miss Me When I’m Gone1995
24If You See Him/If You See Her (with Reba McEntire)1998
25How Long Gone1998
26We’ll Burn That Bridge1993
27Indian Summer2009
28My Next Broken Heart1991
29That Ain’t No Way to Go1994
30Hard Workin’ Man1993