Tag: Bob Marley

Tuesday 4/12/22 11pm ET: Feature LP: Bob Marley and the Wailers – Exodus (1977)

Exodus is a 1977 album by Jamaican reggae band Bob Marley and the Wailers, first released June 3, 1977 through Island Records, following Rastaman Vibration (1976). The album’s production has been characterized as laid-back with pulsating bass beats and an emphasis on piano, trumpet and guitar. Unlike previous albums from the band, Exodus thematically moves away from cryptic story-telling; instead it revolves around themes of change, religious politics, and sex. The album is split into two halves: the first half revolves around religious politics, while the second half is focused on themes of sex and keeping faith.

On December 3, 1976, an assassination attempt was made on Bob Marley’s life in which his chest was grazed and his arm was struck with a bullet, but he survived. Following the assassination attempt, Marley left Jamaica and was exiled to London, where Exodus was recorded.

The album was a success both critically and commercially; it received gold certifications in the US, UK and Canada, and was the album that propelled Marley to international stardom. In 2017, Exodus was remastered and re-released for its 40th anniversary. Exodus has more tracks on Marley’s greatest hits compilation Legend than any of his other records. Exodus was his tenth album since the debut album The Wailing Wailers in 1965, including the live album Live! (1975).

  1. “Natural Mystic” 3:28
  2. “So Much Things to Say” 3:08
  3. “Guiltiness” 3:19
  4. “The Heathen” 2:32
  5. “Exodus” 7:40
  6. “Jamming” 3:31
  7. Waiting in Vain” 4:16
  8. “Turn Your Lights Down Low” 3:39
  9. Three Little Birds” 3:00
  10. One Love/People Get Ready” 2:52

Bob Marley: lead and backing vocals, guitars
Junior Marvin: electric guitars
Aston Barrett: basses
Carlton Barrett: drums
Tyrone Downie: synthesizer, electric piano, organ and backing vocals
Alvin “Seeco” Patterson: percussions
Rita Marley, Marcia Griffiths, Judy Mowatt: backing vocals