Tag: 1992

Friday 3/11/22 9pm ET: Feature LP: Dream Theater – Images and Words (1992)

Images and Words is the second studio album by American progressive metal band Dream Theater, released on July 7, 1992 through ATCO Records. It is the first Dream Theater release to feature James LaBrie on vocals. Since its release, the album has maintained its position as the band’s most commercially successful studio album, and the song “Pull Me Under” has the distinction of being the only Top 10 hit (radio or otherwise) the band has had to date. This particular song has also had more recent success as it has appeared in the 2008 video game Guitar Hero World Tour.

On April 9, 2013, Images and Words won Loudwire’s fan-voted March Metal Madness award for best metal album of all time.

The song “Under a Glass Moon” was awarded the 98th best guitar solo by About.com expert.

In October 2011, Images and Words was ranked number 7 on Guitar World magazine’s top ten list of guitar albums of 1992.

In 2015, the album was ranked first on the website Prog Report’s list of the top 50 progressive rock albums of 1990–2015. Four other Dream Theater albums made the list: Metropolis Pt. 2: Scenes from a Memory (third), Six Degrees of Inner Turbulence (14th), Awake (18th), and Train of Thought (38th).

In 2017, it was ranked 95th at Rolling Stone’s “100 Greatest Metal Albums of All Time”.

1. “Pull Me Under” 8:14
2. “Another Day” 4:23
3. “Take the Time” 8:21
4. “Surrounded” 5:30
5. “Metropolis—Part I: ‘The Miracle and the Sleeper’ ” 9:32
6. “Under a Glass Moon” 7:03
7. “Wait for Sleep” 2:31
8. “Learning to Live” 11:30

Friday 12am ET: Feature LP: Queen – The 12″ Collection

The 12″ Collection is a compilation album by British rock band Queen. It features various 12-inch single format recordings and remixes. “Bohemian Rhapsody” was never released on a 12-inch single and the sleeve notes state that it is included due to its length.  Released in 1992.

“The Show Must Go On” did appear on a 12-inch single, but not as an extended version. The sleeve notes do not mention why it was included.

01 Bohemian Rhapsody 05:58
02 Radio Ga-Ga [Extended Version] 06:53
03 Machines (or ‘Back To Humans’) [12″ Instrumental] 05:08
04 I Want To Break Free [Extended Mix] 07:19
05 It’s A Hard Life [12” Extended] 05:05
06 Hammer To Fall [The Headbanger’s Mix] 05:23
07 Man On The Prowl [Extended Version] 06:04
08 A Kind Of Magic [Extended Version] 06:25
09 Pain Is So Close To Pleasure [12″ Version] 06:01
10 Breakthru [Extended Version] 05:44
11 The Invisible Man [12” Version] 05:30
12 The Show Must Go On 04:34