From Top 100 Albums of The 70s

Wednesday 12pm: Top 100 Albums of The 70s – #100 – The Doors – L.A. Woman (1971)

We start our feature of the Top 100 Albums of the 70s.

#100 – The Doors – L.A. Woman (1971)

L.A. Woman is the sixth studio album by the American rock band the Doors, released on April 19, 1971, on Elektra Records. It is the last to feature the group’s lead singer, Jim Morrison, who died three months after the album’s release. It saw the band continue to integrate elements of blues back into their music, a direction begun with their previous album, Morrison Hotel. It was also recorded without record producer Paul A. Rothchild after he fell out with the group over the perceived lack of quality of their studio performances. Subsequently, the band co-produced the album with longtime sound engineer Bruce Botnick.

“Love Her Madly” was released as a single in March 1971, preceding the album’s release, and it reached the Top 20 in the Billboard Hot 100. Upon release, the album peaked at number nine on the Billboard 200 and reached number 28 on the UK Albums Charts. An additional single in support of the album, “Riders on the Storm”, also achieved chart success on Billboard and in the UK. Critics Richie Unterberger and David Quantick have both called L.A. Woman one of the Doors’ best albums, citing Morrison’s unwavering enthusiasm in his vocal performance, and the band’s stripped-down return to their blues rock roots.

1. “The Changeling” 4:21
2. “Love Her Madly” 3:20
3. “Been Down So Long” 4:41
4. “Cars Hiss by My Window” 4:12
5. “L.A. Woman” 7:49

1. “L’America” 4:37
2. “Hyacinth House” 3:11
3. “Crawling King Snake” 5:00
4. “The WASP (Texas Radio and the Big Beat)” 4:16
5. “Riders on the Storm” 7:09

Tuesday 11pm: Top 100 Albums of The 70’s – #83 – Styx – The Grand Illusion (1977)

The Grand Illusion is the seventh studio album by Styx, it was released on July 7, 1977.

It launched the band to stardom, spawned the hit singles “Come Sail Away” and “Fooling Yourself”, and sold over three million copies in the US (Triple Platinum). Along with Pieces of Eight, it is their best-selling album to date.

The album was recorded at Paragon Recording Studios in Chicago.

The album cover art, created by Alton Kelley and Stanley Mouse, is an homage to a painting by René Magritte entitled “Le Blanc-Seing”.

1. “The Grand Illusion” 4:36
2. “Fooling Yourself (The Angry Young Man)” 5:29
3. “Superstars” 3:59
4. “Come Sail Away” 6:07
5. “Miss America” 5:02
6. “Man in the Wilderness” 5:51
7. “Castle Walls” 5:59
8. “The Grand Finale” 1:57

Tuesday 10pm: Top 100 Albums of The 70’s – #84 – Steve Miller Band – Book Of Dreams (1977)

Book of Dreams is the tenth studio album by Steve Miller Band. The album was released in May 1977 on Capitol Records in the United States, Canada and Japan and by Mercury Records in Europe. Three singles were released from the album in 1977 with the first single, “Jet Airliner”, being the most successful.

The album peaked in the top 10 of the trade charts in four countries, including Canada where the album topped RPM magazine’s 100 Albums chart. The album has gone on to become one of the group’s most successful studio albums.

1. “Threshold” 1:05
2. “Jet Airliner” 4:25
3. “Winter Time” 3:10
4. “Swingtown” 3:54
5. “True Fine Love” 3:10
6. “Wish Upon a Star” 3:39
7. “Jungle Love” 3:10
8. “Electro Lux Imbroglio” 0:55
9. “Sacrifice” 5:17
10. “The Stake” 3:56
11. “My Own Space” 3:00
12. “Babes in the Wood” 2:40

Tuesday 9pm: Top 100 Albums of The 70’s – #85 – Earth, Wind and Fire – Gratitude (1975)

Gratitude is a double album by the band Earth, Wind & Fire issued November 11, 1975 by Columbia Records. The album rose to No. 1 on both the Billboard 200 and Billboard Top Soul Albums charts. Gratitude has also been certified Triple Platinum in the US by the RIAA.

1. “Introduction by MC Perry Jones” 0:21
2. “Africano/Power” 5:56
3. “Yearnin’ Learnin'” 4:16
4. “Devotion” 5:07
5. “Sun Goddess” 7:41
6. “Reasons” 8:23
7. “Sing a Message to You” 1:19
8. “Shining Star” 4:55
9. “New World Symphony” 9:28
10. “Sunshine” 4:24
11. “Sing a Song*” 3:23
12. “Gratitude” 3:23
13. “Celebrate*” 3:06
14. “Can’t Hide Love” 4:10

Friday 11pm: Top 100 Albums of The 70s – #86 – Earth, Wind and Fire – That’s They Way Of The World (1975)

That’s the Way of the World is the sixth studio album by Earth, Wind & Fire, released on March 15, 1975 by Columbia Records. It was also the soundtrack for a 1975 motion picture of the same name. The album rose to No. 1 on both the Billboard 200 and Top Soul Albums charts. That’s the Way of the World has also been certified Triple Platinum in the U.S by the RIAA.

1. “Shining Star” 2:50
2. “That’s the Way of the World” 5:45
3. “Happy Feelin'” 3:35
4. “All About Love” 6:35
5. “Yearnin’ Learnin'” 3:39
6. “Reasons” 4:59
7. “Africano” 5:09
8. “See the Light” 6:18

Friday 10pm: Top 100 Albums of The 70s – #87 – Bad Company – Straight Shooter (1975)

Straight Shooter is the second studio album by the English supergroup Bad Company. The album was released in April 2, 1975, a month after the release of the single “Good Lovin’ Gone Bad” and four months before the album’s second single “Feel Like Makin’ Love”.

The album reached number 3 in the UK Albums Chart and the US Billboard 200. It was certified gold (500,000 units sold) by the Recording Industry Association of America a month after its release. The album was remastered and re-released in 1994.

Mick Ralphs and Simon Kirke stated on In the Studio (which devoted an episode to Straight Shooter) that the track “Shooting Star” (which they did not write) was lyrically inspired by the drug and alcohol-related deaths of Jimi Hendrix, Janis Joplin, and Jim Morrison.

1. “Good Lovin’ Gone Bad” 3:35
2. “Feel Like Makin’ Love” 5:12
3. “Weep No More” 3:59
4. “Shooting Star” 6:16
5. “Deal with the Preacher” 5:01
6. “Wild Fire Woman” 4:32
7. “Anna” 3:41
8. “Call on Me” 6:03

Wednesday 11pm: Top 100 Albums of The 70s – #88 – Elton John – Don’t Shoot Me I’m Only the Piano Player (1973)

Don’t Shoot Me I’m Only the Piano Player is the sixth studio album by Elton John. Released in January 26, 1973 by DJM Records, and was his second straight No. 1 album in the US, yielding his first No. 1 single in both the US and Canada: “Crocodile Rock”. “Daniel” was also a major hit from the album, giving him his second Canadian No. 1 single on the RPM Top Singles Chart and just missing the top slot south of the border, still reaching a successful No. 2 on the US Billboard Hot 100 and reaching No. 4 in the UK, one place higher than achieved by “Crocodile Rock”.

The album’s title comes from something Elton said during an evening spent with Groucho Marx. After an evening of constant ribbing from Marx, Elton’s comeback was to hold his hands up and say, “Don’t shoot me, I’m only the piano player.” The album’s cover photograph, which shows a young couple outside a movie theatre whose marquee reads: Don’t Shoot Me I’m Only The Piano Player starring Elton John, also includes a movie poster of the Marx Brothers’ film Go West. Whether this was an intentional tribute to Groucho, or merely a coincidence, is uncertain.

The title is also a play on the 1960 François Truffaut film Shoot the Piano Player and the original Oscar Wilde quote “Don’t shoot the piano player, he’s doing his best”, which Wilde said he saw in a saloon on a visit to the U.S.

“Daniel” – 3:54
“Teacher I Need You” – 4:10
“Elderberry Wine” – 3:34
“Blues for My Baby and Me” – 5:42
“Midnight Creeper” – 3:55
“Have Mercy on the Criminal” – 5:57
“I’m Gonna Be a Teenage Idol” – 3:55
“Texan Love Song” – 3:33
“Crocodile Rock” – 3:58
“High Flying Bird” – 4:12