Thursday, March 30, 2023 9pm ET: Feature LP: Billy Joel – Innocent Man (1983)

An Innocent Man is the ninth studio album by American singer-songwriter Billy Joel, released on August 8, 1983. The concept album is a tribute to the American popular music of Joel’s adolescent years with Joel paying homage to a number of different and popular American musical styles from the late 1950s and early 1960s, most notably doo-wop and soul music. The album cover artwork was taken on the front steps of 142 Mercer Street, just north of the intersection of Mercer and Prince Street in the SoHo neighborhood of Manhattan, New York City.

  1. “Easy Money” (Homage to James Brown and Wilson Pickett]) 4:04
  2. “An Innocent Man” (Homage to Ben E. King and The Drifters) 5:17
  3. “The Longest Time” (Homage to doo-wop groups like Frankie Lymon and the Teenagers) 3:42
  4. “This Night” (Homage to Little Anthony and the Imperials; chorus tune is Ludwig van Beethoven’s Pathetique sonata) 4:17
  5. “Tell Her About It” (Homage to Motown groups like The Supremes and The Temptations) 3:52
  6. “Uptown Girl” (Homage to Frankie Valli and The Four Seasons[9]) 3:17
  7. “Careless Talk” (Homage to Sam Cooke) 3:48
  8. “Christie Lee” (Homage to Little Richard or Jerry Lee Lewis) 3:31
  9. “Leave a Tender Moment Alone” (Homage to Smokey Robinson) 3:56
  10. “Keeping the Faith” (Homage to Betty Wright’s “Clean Up Woman”. Lyrical homage to Pre-British Invasion Rock n Roll) 4:41

Billy Joel – Baldwin SF-10 acoustic piano, Fender Rhodes electric piano, Hammond B3 organ, lead and background vocals
Liberty DeVitto – drums

Doug Stegmeyer – bass guitar
David Brown – lead electric and acoustic guitars
Russell Javors – rhythm electric and acoustic guitars
Mark Rivera – alto saxophone on “Keeping the Faith”, “This Night” and “Christie Lee”; tenor saxophone, percussion, backing vocals
Ralph MacDonald – percussion on “Leave a Tender Moment Alone” and “Careless Talk”
Leon Pendarvis – Hammond B3 organ on “Easy Money”
Richard Tee – acoustic piano on “Tell Her About It”
Eric Gale – electric guitar on “Easy Money”
Toots Thielemans – harmonica on “Leave a Tender Moment Alone”
“String Fever” – strings
Ronnie Cuber – baritone saxophone on “Easy Money”, “Careless Talk”, “Tell Her About It” and “Keeping the Faith”
Jon Faddis – trumpet on “Easy Money”
David Sanborn – alto saxophone on “Easy Money”
Joe Shepley – trumpet on “Easy Money”, “Careless Talk”, “Tell Her About It” and “Keeping the Faith”
Michael Brecker – tenor saxophone on “Careless Talk”, “Tell Her About It” and “Keeping the Faith”
John Gatchell – trumpet on “Careless Talk”, “Tell Her About It” and “Keeping the Faith”
Tom Bahler – background vocals
Rory Dodd – background vocals
Frank Floyd – background vocals
Lani Groves – background vocals
Ullanda McCullough – background vocals
Ron Taylor – background vocals
Terry Textor – background vocals
Eric Troyer – background vocals
Mike Alexander – background vocals