Saturday, March 25, 2023 3pm ET: Number One Albums Of: Feature LP: Led Zeppelin – Physical Graffiti (1975)

Physical Graffiti is the sixth studio album by the English rock band Led Zeppelin. It was released as a double album on February 24, 1975 by the group’s new record label, Swan Song Records. Number One March 22, 1975 thru April 26, 1975.

The band wrote and recorded eight new songs for the album in early 1974 at Headley Grange, a country house in Hampshire, which gave them ample time to improvise arrangements and experiment with recording. The total playing time covered just under three sides of an LP, so they decided to expand it into a double by including previously unreleased tracks from the sessions for the earlier albums Led Zeppelin III, Led Zeppelin IV and Houses of the Holy. The album covered a range of styles including hard rock, progressive rock, rock ‘n’ roll and folk. The album was then mixed over summer 1974 and planned for an end-of year release; however, its release was delayed because the Peter Corriston-designed die-cut album cover proved difficult to manufacture.

Physical Graffiti was commercially and critically successful upon its release and debuted at number one on album charts in the UK and number three in the US. It was promoted by a successful US tour and a five-night residency at Earl’s Court, London, and has since been viewed as one of the group’s strongest albums and the artistic peak of their career. The album has been reissued on CD several times, including an expansive 40th anniversary edition in 2015. Physical Graffiti was later certified 16x platinum in the United States by the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA) in 2006, signifying shipments of over eight million copies.

  1. “Custard Pie” 4:13
  2. “The Rover” 5:36
  3. “In My Time of Dying” 11:04
  4. “Houses of the Holy” 4:01
  5. “Trampled Under Foot” 5:35
  6. “Kashmir” 8:37
  7. “In the Light” 8:44
  8. “Bron-Yr-Aur” 2:06
  9. “Down by the Seaside” 5:14
  10. “Ten Years Gone” 6:31
  11. “Night Flight” 3:36
  12. “The Wanton Song” 4:06
  13. “Boogie with Stu” 3:51
  14. “Black Country Woman” 4:24
  15. “Sick Again” 4:43
  16. “Brandy & Coke” (“Trampled Under Foot”) (Initial/Rough Mix) 5:38
  17. “Sick Again” (Early Version) 2:20
  18. “In My Time of Dying” (Initial/Rough Mix) 10:45
  19. “Houses of the Holy” (Rough Mix with Overdubs) 3:51
  20. “Everybody Makes It Through” (“In the Light”) (Early Version/In Transit) 6:29
  21. “Boogie with Stu” (Sunset Sound Mix) 3:36
  22. “Driving Through Kashmir” (“Kashmir”) (Rough Orchestra Mix) 8:33

John Bonham – drums, percussion
John Paul Jones – bass guitar, keyboards, mandolin, acoustic guitar, string and brass arrangements
Jimmy Page – electric, acoustic, lap steel and slide guitars, production
Robert Plant – lead vocals, harmonica

Ian Stewart – piano on “Boogie with Stu”