Monday 2/13/23 9pm ET: Feature LP: Lobo (1979)

Roland Kent LaVoie (born July 31, 1943), better known by his stage name Lobo (which is a Spanish word for wolf), is an American singer-songwriter who was successful in the 1970s, scoring several U.S. Top 10 hits including “Me and You and a Dog Named Boo”, “I’d Love You to Want Me”, and “Don’t Expect Me to Be Your Friend”. These three songs, along with “Where Were You When I Was Falling in Love”, gave Lobo four chart toppers on the Easy Listening/Hot Adult Contemporary chart.

Lobo is the seventh album by Lobo and his only album on MCA Records, released in 1979.

The album failed to chart. “Where Were You When I Was Falling in Love” peaked at No. 23 on the Billboard Hot 100, becoming his final Top 40 hit to date. It also became his final No. 1 on the Adult Contemporary chart.

  1. “Where Were You When I Was Falling in Love” 3:16
  2. “Spendin’ Time, Makin’ Love, and Goin’ Crazy” 3:30
  3. “A Day in the Life of Love” 3:44
  4. “Heart to Heart (Person to Person)” 3:31
  5. “It’s Time to Face the Music and Dance” 3:11
  6. “Holdin’ On for Dear Love” 2:43
  7. “Lay Me Down” 3:12
  8. “I Don’t Want to Make Love Anymore” 3:27
  9. “The Way I Came In” 4:12
  10. “Gus, the Dancing Dog” 2:44

Lobo – guitar, lead vocals
Bob Ray – bass
Mike Leech – bass
Roger Clark – drums
Ken Bell – guitar
Larry Byrom – guitar
Steve Nathan – keyboards
Larry Keith, Lea Jane Berinati, Lisa Silver, Steve Pippin, Van Stephenson – backing vocals
Ron Oates – string arrangements