Thursday 2/2/23 10pm ET: Feature LP: Stranglers – Rattus Norvegicus (Stranglers IV) (1977)

Rattus Norvegicus (alternative title The Stranglers IV) is the debut studio album by the Stranglers, released on April 15, 1977.

It was one of the highest-selling albums of the punk era in Britain, eventually achieving platinum record sales. Two of its tracks, “Peaches” and “(Get A) Grip (On Yourself)”, were released as 7-inch singles in the UK.

  1. “Sometimes” 4:56
  2. “Goodbye Toulouse” 3:12
  3. “London Lady” 2:25
  4. “Princess of the Streets” 4:34
  5. “Hanging Around” 4:25
  6. “Peaches” 4:03
  7. “(Get A) Grip (On Yourself)” 3:55
  8. “Ugly” 4:03
  9. “Down in the Sewer” 7:30
  10. “Choosey Susie” 3:14
  11. “Go Buddy Go” 3:58
  12. “Peasant in the Big Shitty” 3:42

Hugh Cornwell – guitars, lead and backing vocals
Jean-Jacques Burnel – bass guitar, lead and backing vocals
Dave Greenfield – keyboards (Hammond L100 Organ, Hohner Cembalet electric piano, Minimoog synthesizer), backing and lead vocals
Jet Black – drums, percussion
Eric Clarke – tenor saxophone (“(Get A) Grip (On Yourself)”)