Thursday 2/2/23 10am ET: Feature Greatest Hits LP: Shakira – Oral Fixation Vol. 2 (2006)

Oral Fixation, Vol. 2 is the first box set by Colombian singer and songwriter Shakira, released on December 5, 2006, by Epic Records. Released one year after her sixth and seventh studio albums Fijación Oral, Vol. 1 and Oral Fixation, Vol. 2, it includes both previous albums and an additional DVD with music videos and live performances. After attaining international success with her third studio effort, Laundry Service (2001), Shakira decided to create a two-part follow-up record. She released the project as the follow-up to her sixth studio effort Fijación Oral, Vol. 1, with which she had attained international success five months prior.

As co-producer, Shakira enlisted Rick Rubin as executive producer, also working with Gustavo Cerati, Lester Mendez, Luis F. Ochoa and Jose “Gocho” Torres. to work alongside newer partners Jerry Duplessis, Wyclef Jean, Tim Mitchell and The Matrix. Musically the album follows in the vein of her earlier works, the album is heavily influenced by Latin pop styles, and additionally incorporates elements of dance-pop, pop rock, and trip hop. The compilation peaked at numbers 13 and 27 on the Billboard Latin Pop Albums and Top Latin Albums charts.

  1. “How Do You Do” 3:45
  2. “Illegal” (featuring Carlos Santana) 3:53
  3. “Hips Don’t Lie” (featuring Wyclef Jean) 3:38
  4. “Animal City” 3:15
  5. “Don’t Bother” 4:17
  6. “The Day And The Time” (featuring Gustavo Cerati) 4:22
  7. “Dreams For Plans” 4:02
  8. “Hey You” 4:09
  9. “Your Embrace” 3:32
  10. “Costume Makes the Clown” 3:12
  11. “Something” 4:21
  12. “Timor” 3:32
  13. “La Tortura” (alternate version) 3:32

David Alsina – bandoneon
Paul Bushnell – bajo sexto
Jorge Calandrelli – metales, orchestra director, string arrangements
Dave Carpenter – bajo sexto
Gustavo Cerati – composer, guest artist, guitar, keyboard, primary artist, producer, programming
Chris Chaney – bajo sexto
Luis Conte – percussion
Pete Davis – keyboards, programming, trumpet
Gary Foster – flute
Victor Indrizzo – bateria, percussion
Humberto (Kiro) Judex – accordion
Steve Kajula – flute
Charles Loper – trombone
Warren Luening – flugelhorn
Bob McChensay – trombone
Lester Mendez – composer, keyboards, producer, programming
Frank Marocco – accordion
Jonathan Mover – bateria
Teddy Mulet – trumpet
Shawn Pelton – bateria, percussion
Archie Pena – percussion
Tony Reyes – guitar, keyboards
Shakira – composer, vocals
Ramón Stagnaro – guitar
Rene Toledo – guitar
Lyle Workman – guitar
Rita Quintero – background vocals/arranger
Emmanuel Cauvet – drums & programation