Saturday 1/28/23 6pm ET: Feature LP: Journey – Frontiers (1983)

Frontiers is the eighth studio album by the American rock band Journey, released on January 23, 1983 on Columbia Records. This was the band’s last album to feature bassist Ross Valory until 1996’s Trial by Fire.

The album reached No. 2 on the Billboard 200 chart and would garner four top 40 singles: “After the Fall” (No. 23), “Send Her My Love” (No. 23), “Faithfully” (No. 12), and “Separate Ways (Worlds Apart)” (No. 8), and a rock radio hit in “Chain Reaction”. The album would later achieve the RIAA certification of six times platinum.

The album had been sequenced and prepped for pressing when, in a last-minute conference with Journey’s A&R man Michael Dillbeck, two songs were pulled from the original lineup, “Ask the Lonely” and “Only the Young”. These two tracks were replaced with “Back Talk” and “Troubled Child”. “Ask the Lonely” was utilized in the soundtrack for the film Two of a Kind. “Only the Young” would find its way into the Top Ten two years later, as part of the soundtrack of the movie Vision Quest.

The band recorded a song called “All That Really Matters,” with keyboardist Jonathan Cain singing lead, during the album sessions. It didn’t see release until the 1992 release of the Time3 box set.

Frontiers was the band’s highest-charting album in the United Kingdom, reaching No. 6 on the UK Albums Chart in 1983.

  1. “Separate Ways (Worlds Apart)” 5:23
  2. “Send Her My Love” 3:55
  3. “Chain Reaction” 4:21
  4. “After the Fall” 5:01
  5. “Faithfully” 4:27
  6. “Edge of the Blade” 4:30
  7. “Troubled Child” 4:29
  8. “Back Talk” 3:17
  9. “Frontiers” 4:10
  10. “Rubicon” 4:19
  11. “Only the Young” 4:18
  12. “Ask the Lonely” 3:55
  13. “Liberty” 2:54
  14. “Only Solutions” 3:33

Steve Perry – lead vocals
Neal Schon – lead guitar, backing vocals
Jonathan Cain – keyboards, rhythm guitar, backing vocals
Ross Valory – bass guitar, backing vocals
Steve Smith – drums, percussion
Randy Jackson – bass guitar on “After the Fall”