Monday 1/9/23 9pm ET: Feature LP: Aerosmith – Honkin’ On Bobo (2004)

Honkin’ on Bobo is the fourteenth studio album by American rock band Aerosmith, released on March 30, 2004, by Columbia Records. The album includes 11 covers of blues and blues rock songs from the 1950s and 1960s, with one new song, “The Grind”. The album pays tribute to Aerosmith’s earliest influences and showcases a rawer sound, reminiscent of their 1970s work, when compared to their more recent commercial efforts. Honkin’ on Bobo was produced by Jack Douglas, who was Aerosmith’s producer on a vast majority of their 1970s output.

The album sold over 160,000 copies in its first week, reaching number five on the Billboard 200. Honkin’ on Bobo was certified gold by the Recording Industry Association of America on May 11, 2004.

  1. “Road Runner” 3:46
  2. “Shame, Shame, Shame” 2:15
  3. “Eyesight to the Blind” 3:09
  4. “Baby, Please Don’t Go” 3:24
  5. “Never Loved a Girl” 3:12
  6. “Back Back Train” 4:23
  7. “You Gotta Move” 5:30
  8. “The Grind” 3:46
  9. “I’m Ready” 4:13
  10. “Temperature” 2:52
  11. “Stop Messin’ Around” 4:29
  12. “Jesus Is on the Main Line” 2:51

Steven Tyler – lead vocals, harmonica, piano on “Never Loved a Girl”, backing vocals on “Stop Messin’ Around”, percussion, production
Joe Perry – lead guitar, backing vocals, lead vocals on “Back Back Train” and “Stop Messin’ Around”, production
Brad Whitford – rhythm and lead guitar
Tom Hamilton – bass guitar
Joey Kramer – drums
Tracy Bonham – vocals on “Back Back Train” and “Jesus Is on the Main Line”
Johnnie Johnson – piano on “Shame, Shame, Shame” and “Temperature”
The Memphis Horns – brass on “Never Loved a Girl”
Paul Santo – piano, electric piano, organ, engineering