Wednesday 1/4/23 6pm ET: Feature LP: Rush – Test For Echo (1996)

Test for Echo is the sixteenth studio album by the Canadian rock band Rush, released on September 10, 1996 on Anthem Records. It is the final Rush work before the death of Neil Peart’s daughter and wife that put the band on hiatus until the recording of Vapor Trails in January 2001. It is also the final Rush album co-produced by Peter Collins.

The title track reached No. 1 on the mainstream rock chart. The song “Driven” became a bass showcase for Geddy Lee during live performances, while “Resist” was rearranged as an acoustic song on the Vapor Trails and R30 tours. The band did not perform any tracks from the album on subsequent tours. Test for Echo was remastered and reissued twice: in 2004 as a continuation of “The Rush Remasters” set and in 2013 as a part of the box set The Studio Albums 1989–2007. In 2015 it was reissued after being remastered by Sean Magee at Abbey Road Studios following a direct approach by Rush to remaster their entire back catalogue.

  1. “Test for Echo” 5:56
  2. “Driven” 4:27
  3. “Half the World” 3:43
  4. “The Color of Right” 4:48
  5. “Time and Motion” 5:01
  6. “Totem” 4:58
  7. “Dog Years” 4:55
  8. “Virtuality” 5:44
  9. “Resist” 4:23
  10. “Limbo” 5:29
  11. “Carve Away the Stone” 4:06

Geddy Lee – bass guitar, vocals, synthesizers
Alex Lifeson – electric and acoustic guitars, mandola
Neil Peart – drums, cymbals, hammer dulcimer