Monday 12/19/22 9pm ET: Feature LP: The Supremes – A Go-Go (1966)

The Supremes A’ Go-Go is the ninth studio album released August 25, 1966 by Motown singing group the Supremes. It was the first album by an all-female group to reach number-one on the Billboard 200 album charts in the United States.

Included are two of the Supremes’ top ten Billboard Hot 100 singles—the number-nine hit “Love Is Like an Itching in My Heart” and the number-one hit “You Can’t Hurry Love”. Also present on the album are covers of songs by the Elgins’ (“Put Yourself in My Place”), the Four Tops’ (“Baby I Need Your Loving”, “I Can’t Help Myself (Sugar Pie Honey Bunch)”, “Shake Me, Wake Me (When It’s Over)”), the Temptations’ (“Get Ready”), Martha and the Vandellas’ (“Come and Get These Memories”) Barrett Strong’s (“Money (That’s What I Want)”), the Isley Brothers’ (“This Old Heart of Mine (Is Weak for You)”), Nancy Sinatra’s (“These Boots Are Made for Walkin'”), and the McCoys’ (“Hang On Sloopy”).

“Love Is Like an Itching in My Heart” 2:54
“This Old Heart of Mine (Is Weak for You)” 2:35
“You Can’t Hurry Love” 2:46
“Shake Me, Wake Me (When It’s Over)” 2:46
“Baby I Need Your Loving” 2:59
“These Boots Are Made for Walkin'” 2:31
“I Can’t Help Myself (Sugar Pie Honey Bunch)” 2:36
“Get Ready” 2:43
“Put Yourself in My Place” 2:20
“Money (That’s What I Want)” 2:26
“Come and Get These Memories” 2:18
“Hang On Sloopy” 2:43

Diana Ross – lead vocals (except on “Come and Get These Memories”)
Mary Wilson – background vocals, lead on “Come and Get These Memories”
Florence Ballard – background vocals
The Andantes – background vocals on “Put Yourself In My Place”
The Funk Brothers – instrumentation
The Detroit Symphony Orchestra – instrumentation