Thursday 12/8/22 9pm ET: Feature LP: Sneaker Pimps – Becoming X (1996)

Becoming X is the debut studio album by English electronic band Sneaker Pimps. It was first released August 19, 1996 in the United Kingdom by Clean Up Records and on February 25, 1997 in the United States by Virgin Records. The album marked the only appearance of Kelli Dayton as lead singer before she was asked to leave the band; Chris Corner replaced her for the band’s subsequent albums.

Becoming X was commercially successful in the United Kingdom, while “6 Underground” and “Spin Spin Sugar” would become hits in the United States. Fueled by the success of the former single, the album spent 23 consecutive weeks on the US Billboard 200.

  1. “Low Place Like Home” 4:37
  2. “Tesko Suicide” 3:44
  3. “6 Underground” 4:05
  4. “Becoming X” 4:14
  5. “Spin Spin Sugar” 4:20
  6. “Post-Modern Sleaze” 5:11
  7. “Waterbaby” 4:10
  8. “Roll On” 4:27
  9. “Wasted Early Sunday Morning” 4:27
  10. “Walking Zero” 4:31
  11. Underground (Nellee Hooper Edit) 3:48

Kelli Dayton − vocals, guitars
Chris Corner − guitars, keyboards
Liam Howe − production, keyboards, guitars, drums, samples, percussion, programming
Joe Wilson − bass, keyboards
Dave Westlake − drums, programming
Ian Pickering – lyrics, keyboards
Jim Abbiss, C. Goddard, Flood, Oggy AKA Augustus Skinner, Luke Gifford − engineering
Mark “Spike” Stent, Flood, Jim Abbiss, Line Of Flight, Nellee Hooper, Luke Gifford − mixing
Andy Wright, Marius De Vries − additional programming and keyboards