Thursday 12/8/22 7pm ET: Feature LP: Cage The Elephant – Tell Me I’m Pretty (2015)

Tell Me I’m Pretty is the fourth studio album by American rock band Cage the Elephant. It was released on December 18, 2015, and was announced online on October 5, 2015. The album was recorded in the spring of 2015 at Easy Eye Sound in Nashville, Tennessee. Vocalist Matt Shultz stated: “With this record, we wanted to be more transparent. We wanted to capture the sentiment of each song, and whatever emotional response it provoked, to be really honest to that.”

On October 29, 2015, the band released the first single from the album, “Mess Around”, accompanied by a music video which was created using footage from the 1902 film A Trip to the Moon and other films by Georges Méliès. Two other songs, “Trouble” and “Too Late to Say Goodbye”, were made available for download before the album’s release. The second single “Trouble” was sent to alternative radio on April 26, 2016. The album won the award for Best Rock Album at the 59th Grammy Awards.

  1. “Cry Baby” 4:07
  2. “Mess Around” 2:53
  3. “Sweetie Little Jean” 3:44
  4. “Too Late to Say Goodbye” 4:12
  5. “Cold Cold Cold” 3:34
  6. “Trouble” 3:45
  7. “How Are You True” 4:40
  8. “That’s Right” 3:52
  9. “Punchin’ Bag” 3:47
  10. “Portuguese Knife Fight” 3:37

Matt Shultz − lead vocals, acoustic guitar
Brad Shultz − rhythm guitar
Daniel Tichenor − bass
Jared Champion − drums
Dan Auerbach − rhythm guitar, keyboards, backing vocals
Nick Bockrath − lead guitar, backing vocals
Matthan Minster − keyboards, backing vocals, percussion