Tuesday 12/6/22 11:15pm ET: Feature LP: Aerosmith – Rock In A Hard Place (1982)

Rock in a Hard Place is the seventh studio album by American hard rock band Aerosmith, released on August 27, 1982 by Columbia Records. It was certified gold on November 10, 1989. It is the only Aerosmith album not to feature lead guitarist Joe Perry, following his departure from the band in 1979. Rhythm guitarist Brad Whitford also left during the recording in 1981. The band spent $1.5 million on the recording of this album, which saw them reunited with producer Jack Douglas.

  1. “Jailbait” 4:38
  2. “Lightning Strikes” 4:26
  3. “Bitch’s Brew” 4:14
  4. “Bolivian Ragamuffin” 3:32
  5. “Cry Me a River” 4:06
  6. “Prelude to Joanie” 1:21
  7. “Joanie’s Butterfly” 5:35
  8. “Rock in a Hard Place (Cheshire Cat)” 4:46
  9. “Jig Is Up” 3:10
  10. “Push Comes to Shove” 4:28

Steven Tyler – lead vocals, keyboards, harmonica, percussion, piano on “Push Comes to Shove”, producer
Jimmy Crespo – lead and rhythm guitar, backing vocals, additional vocals on “Bitches Brew”
Tom Hamilton – bass guitar
Joey Kramer – drums
Rick Dufay – rhythm guitar (credited as a band member but does not play)
Brad Whitford – rhythm guitar on “Lightning Strikes”
Paul Harris – piano on “Push Comes to Shove”
John Turi – saxophone on “Rock in a Hard Place (Cheshire Cat)”
Reinhard Straub – violin on “Joanie’s Butterfly”
John Lievano – acoustic guitar on “Joanie’s Butterfly”
Jack Douglas – percussion, producer, additional engineer