Tuesday 11/29/22 11pm ET: Feature LP: Genesis – Duke (1980)

Duke is the tenth studio album by English rock band Genesis, released March 28, 1980 on Charisma Records. The album followed a period of inactivity for the band in early 1979. Phil Collins moved to Vancouver, Canada, in an effort to salvage his failing first marriage, while Tony Banks and Mike Rutherford recorded solo albums. Collins returned to the UK after his marriage ended and wrote a significant amount of material, some of which was used for Duke and some was later reworked for his first solo album, Face Value. Duke contained a mix of individually-written songs and tracks that evolved from jam sessions in mid-1979, while recording took place at the end of the year. The break in activity rejuvenated the band, and they found the album an easy one to work on.

Duke was positively received by music critics, who praised the album for bridging the band’s progressive rock-oriented past, via experimental pieces such as the closing ten-minute “Duke’s Travels”/”Duke’s End” suite, with their more pop rock-oriented, commercially accessible direction, as displayed on the hit singles “Turn It On Again”, “Duchess”, and “Misunderstanding”. It reached No. 11 in the US, and it was the first album by the group to reach No. 1 on the UK charts. It has since been certified Platinum in both the UK and US.

  1. “Behind the Lines” 5:31
  2. “Duchess” 6:40
  3. “Guide Vocal” 1:18
  4. “Man of Our Times” 5:35
  5. “Misunderstanding” 3:11
  6. “Heathaze” 5:00
  7. “Turn It On Again” 3:50
  8. “Alone Tonight” 3:54
  9. “Cul-de-sac” 5:02
  10. “Please Don’t Ask” 4:00
  11. “Duke’s Travels” 8:41
  12. “Duke’s End” (instrumental) 2:04

Tony Banks – keyboards, backing vocals, 12-string guitar, duck[b]
Mike Rutherford – guitars, bass guitar, bass pedals, backing vocals
Phil Collins – lead vocal, drums, drum machine, percussion, duck