Thursday 11/24/22 9pm ET: Feature LP: Janet Jackson (1982)

Janet Jackson is the debut studio album by American singer-songwriter Janet Jackson, released on September 21, 1982 by A&M Records. Janet Jackson is described as a dance and contemporary R&B record. Songwriters Angela Winbush and René Moore contributed to much of the album’s lyrics. Moore and Winbush share production credits with Foster Sylvers, Jerry Weaver, and Bobby Watson. On release Janet Jackson charted on the Billboard 200 and in New Zealand. Three singles from the album had little impact on Billboard Hot 100 charts, among them “Young Love”, “Come Give Your Love to Me” and “Say You Do”, though these singles achieved success on the R&B charts. Jackson performed “Young Love” and “Say You Do” on American TV shows American Bandstand and Soul Train in 1982. The cover artwork of Jackson’s body submerged in water was based on a photo of Elizabeth Taylor. Worldwide, the album has sold 300,000 copies.

  1. “Say You Do” 6:49
  2. “You’ll Never Find (A Love Like Mine)” 4:09
  3. “Young Love” 4:56
  4. “Love and My Best Friend” 4:47
  5. “Don’t Mess Up This Good Thing” 3:53
  6. “Forever Yours” 4:57
  7. “The Magic Is Working” 4:09
  8. “Come Give Your Love to Me” 5:03

Janet Jackson – vocals
Bobby Watson, James Jamerson, Jr., Leon F. Sylvers III, Ricky Smith – bass guitar
Foster Sylvers – synthesizer, bass, drums, producer, rhythm arrangements
Marlo Henderson, Greg Moore, Tony Maiden, Fred West, Michael McGloiry, Fred Jenkins, Pepper Read – guitars
Paulinho Da Costa, Edmund Sylvers, Melvin Webb – percussion
André Fischer, John JR Robinson – drums
Wardell Potts, Jr. – drums, rhythm arrangements
René Moore – keyboards, background vocals, handclapping, producer, rhythm arrangements, Moog bass
Angela Winbush – keyboards, background vocals, producer, rhythm arrangements
Phillip Ingram – keyboards, string machine, background vocals
Joey Gallo – keyboards, synthesizer
Eddie Fluellen – string machine
Jerry Hey – horn arrangements
Humberto Gatica – mixing
Stuart Furusho – engineer, mixing assistant
Kirk Ferraioli – assistant engineer
Gene Dozier – keyboards, horn arrangements, string arrangements
Jeff Lorber, Barry Sarna, Ian Underwood – synthesizers
Attala Zane Giles – background vocals
Monica Joy Rhodes, Wendell C. Wellman – handclaps
Dana Meyers – background vocals, vocal arrangement
Howard Hewett – background vocals

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.