Monday 11/14/22 9pm ET: Feature LP: Crowded House – Temple Of Low Men (1988)

Temple of Low Men is the second studio album by New Zealand-Australian rock band Crowded House, released by Capitol Records on July 5,1988. The three band members, Neil Finn, Nick Seymour and Paul Hester, recorded the album in Melbourne and Los Angeles with Mitchell Froom as producer. Finn had written all ten tracks during the two years since their self-titled debut. Temple of Low Men peaked at number one in Australia, number two in New Zealand, number ten in Canada and number 40 on the US Billboard 200.

At the ARIA Music Awards of 1989 the group won four categories: Album of the Year and Best Group for Temple of Low Men; Best Cover Art for Seymour’s work; and Song of the Year for “Better Be Home Soon”.

  1. “I Feel Possessed” 3:48
  2. “Kill Eye” 3:14
  3. “Into Temptation” 4:33
  4. “Mansion in the Slums” 3:45
  5. “When You Come” 4:45
  6. “Never Be the Same” 4:28
  7. “Love This Life” 3:36
  8. “Sister Madly” 2:52
  9. “In the Lowlands” 3:56
  10. “Better Be Home Soon” 3:07

Neil Finn – lead vocals, guitar
Nick Seymour – bass, backing vocals
Paul Hester – drums, backing vocals
Tim Finn – backing vocals
Mitchell Froom – keyboards
Richard Thompson – guitar solo “Sister Madly”
Alex Acuña – percussion
Heart Attack Horns – horns