Wednesday 11/9/22 10pm ET: Feature LP: Sting – …Nothing Like The Sun (1987)

…Nothing Like the Sun is the second solo studio album by English singer-songwriter Sting. The album was originally released on October 5, 1987 on A&M (worldwide). The album explores the genres of pop rock, soft rock, jazz, reggae, world, acoustic rock, dance-rock, and funk rock. The songs were recorded during March–August in 1987 in sessions that took place at Air Studios, in Montserrat, assisted by record producers Hugh Padgham, Bryan Loren, and Neil Dorfsman. It features a number of high-profile guest guitarists, including former Police member Andy Summers, Eric Clapton, Mark Knopfler, and Hiram Bullock, and is generally regarded as the culmination of the smoother, more adult-oriented sound of Sting’s early work.

On release, the album was received favorably by the majority of music critics and in 1989, the album was ranked #90 on Rolling Stone magazine’s list of the “100 Best Albums of the Eighties”. “We’ll Be Together”, “Be Still My Beating Heart”, “Englishman in New York”, “Fragile”, and “They Dance Alone” were all released as singles.

It won Best British Album at the 1988 Brit Awards. In 1989 the album received three Grammy nominations including Album of the Year while the album’s second single (“Be Still My Beating Heart”) was nominated for Song of the Year and Best Male Pop Vocal Performance.

  1. “The Lazarus Heart” 4:34
  2. “Be Still My Beating Heart” 5:32
  3. “Englishman in New York” 4:25
  4. “History Will Teach Us Nothing” 4:58
  5. “They Dance Alone (Cueca Solo)” 7:16
  6. “Fragile” 3:54
  7. “We’ll Be Together” 4:52
  8. “Straight to My Heart” 3:55
  9. “Rock Steady” 4:27
  10. “Sister Moon” 3:46
  11. “Little Wing” 5:04
  12. “The Secret Marriage” 2:03

Sting – vocals, arrangements, bass guitar (1-9, 12), Spanish guitar (4), acoustic guitar (6) double bass (10)
Kenny Kirkland – keyboards
Gil Evans – keyboards (11)
Gil Evans and His Orchestra – orchestra (11)
Ken Helman – acoustic piano (12)
Andy Summers – guitars (1, 2)
Eric Clapton – guitar (5)
Fareed Haque – guitar (5)
Mark Knopfler – guitar (5)
Hiram Bullock – guitars (11)
Mark Egan – bass guitar (11)
Manu Katché – drums (1-10, 12)
Kenwood Dennard – drums (11)
Andy Newmark – additional drums
Mino Cinelu – percussion, vocoder
Branford Marsalis – saxophones
Renée Geyer – backing vocals
Dolette McDonald – backing vocals
Janice Pendarvis – backing vocals
Pamela Quinlan – backing vocals
Rubén Blades – Spanish vocals (5)
Annie Lennox – backing vocals (7)
Vesta Williams – backing vocals (7)