Monday 11/7/22 9pm ET: Feature LP: John Waite – Ignition (1982)

Ignition is the debut solo album by English singer-songwriter John Waite (ex-vocalist for The Babys). It was released on Chrysalis Records on June 29, 1982 and produced by Neil Giraldo (producer/guitarist for Pat Benatar, who was on the same label).

Two singles were lifted from the record: the Holly Knight-penned “Change” which initially failed to make a significant dent on any chart except for the Hot Mainstream Rock Tracks, where it scored the No. 16 position. It was, however, one of MTV’s most popular early videos. Upon the 1985 release of the soundtrack to the film Vision Quest, the single was re-issued and broke into the top 50 on the Pop charts. Its follow-up single was “Going to the Top”.

A few well-known musicians guested on the album as well. Singer Patty Smyth (then in the band Scandal) handled vocal backing, and drummer Frankie LaRocka (also from Scandal) and bassist Don Nossov (who also played with Benatar) guest here.

“White Heat” 3:22
“Change” 3:15
“Mr. Wonderful” 4:07
“Going to the Top” 4:36
“Desperate Love” 3:55
“Temptation” 2:59
“Be My Baby Tonight” 3:22
“Make It Happen” 3:18
“Still in Love with You” 3:42
“Wild Life” 3:23

John Waite – lead vocals
Bruce Brody – keyboards, pianos
Ivan Kral – keyboards, pianos, rhythm guitars
Tim Pierce – lead guitars
Spyder Downtone Butane James – guitar solo on “Mr. Wonderful”
Donnie Nossov – bass, backing vocals
Frankie LaRocka – drums, percussion
Crispin Cioe – saxophones
Arno Hecht – saxophones
“Hollywood Paul” Litteral – trumpets
Rahni Kugel – backing vocals
Ilana Morrilo – backing vocals
Patty Smyth – backing vocals
Mark Betz, Brendan Bourke, Dave Lang, Chris Pollan, Suzan, John Waite and John Elijah Wright